The Oé team offers delivery from 6 bottles ordered!

Organic vegan wine: what is it?

I'm not vegan, what am I doing here? ". Don't leave, this article is for you! If there's one subject we all agree on at Oé, it's that wine is for everyone, without exception. A vegan wine does not mean that it is only to be enjoyed by vegans, but simply that it is "suitable for vegans” . Follow us, we will explain everything to you! ;)

Being vegan, what does it really mean?

It is said that a person is vegan when he does not consume animal flesh or anything that comes from the animal: his eggs or his offspring, honey, milk... And does not dress with leather or other material that would cause animals to suffer for its creation. In the field of wine, a wine is called vegan when it has not been filtered with products of animal origin .

Being a vegetarian means no longer eating animal flesh (meat, fish, etc.).

These convictions are not new, they are even rather old but are developing more and more. It's not just a fad, it's a real way of life where we try to act in a more responsible and greener way.

For some, it's a way to protect themselves against diseases that can be found in animals (when you think that the coronavirus comes from the pangolin, you say to yourself that eating veggie salads there is nothing better!) . For others, it is above all questions of respect for the environment and protection of animal species. There may also be questions of religion, of faith. There are actually many reasons to be vegetarian or vegan , it's up to you to choose what suits you best, the most important thing is to be in tune with your choices.


What is an organic vegan wine?

Now let's move on to the definition of vegan organic wine. The vinification of the wine is done in several stages. The grape does not transform on its own like the caterpillar does. So to be as good as a butterfly is beautiful, red wines , rosé wines and white wines are pampered, from the hand of the winegrowers to the bottling!

In order for your delicious red wines, white wines and rosé wines to be on your table, they must first go from the vine to your glass through several stages.

If you want to learn more about the winemaking process, it's here .

The underside of a vegan wine

A vegan wine is a wine that has never been in contact with a product of animal origin during vinification. Once the alcoholic fermentation is complete, the wine is filtered or clarified: this is called fining. This step makes the wine clearer, more visually pleasing but also, for some, better on the palate. Some winemakers choose not to fin to keep a wine that is more representative of its terroir. And that doesn't mean the wines aren't good ;)

For those who wish to do this step, there are several ways:

  • Bentonite, natural clay.
  • Fish glue , a protein from the swim bladders of fish.
  • Casein, a milk protein.
  • Egg albumin, a protein found in egg white.
  • Gelatins, which are proteins found in skins or bones (mainly pork)
  • PVPP (polyvinylpyrrolidone), a synthetic product.
  • Vegetable proteins, there are several different ones (potato, wheat and peas).

For a wine to be considered vegan , the winegrowers must use processes where the wine is not brought into contact with products of animal origin to carry out the fining. Our winegrowers mostly use pea protein or bentonite. So that this step does not alter the aromas of the wine, the winegrowers must be meticulous and vigilant not to rush the mixture.

Conversely, wines from supermarkets, produced in large quantities, are more likely to have been jostled and mistreated during the process, at the risk of losing flavors. Above all, it is the love of the wine estate and the winemaker's know-how that will make the difference.

The production of wines is very controlled. To obtain labels , organic certifications or appellations, the winegrowers respect a set of specifications . Vegan wines can only be certified if they have followed the procedure in force.

The underside of organic wine and the differences with vegan wine

However , organic wines should not be confused with vegan wines. We talk about organic wines when they are made from organic viticulture , that is to say that no pesticides and/or chemical fertilizers have been used in the vineyards . The vegan label is affixed only to the winemaking technique.

Discover our box of our iconic organic and vegan wines.



Liquid error: product form must be given a product

from


Editor's note: vinification is all the processes used to transform grapes into wine, whereas viticulture is the agricultural activity that allows grapes to grow.

The approach can also be taken further with biodynamic viticulture . Natural wine has no legal value recognized by the State but follows the same principle of ecological and responsible viticulture and winemaking. It does not allow any input or technique that could modify the original juice. Due to its legal void, it is the associations themselves that define this wine and establish the specifications to be respected.

These sets of techniques are developing more and more and can be suitable for the majority of vines , grape varieties (Cabernet-Sauvignon, Merlot, Chardonnay, Syrah, Pinot Noir, etc.), terroirs and wine regions (Bordeaux Burgundy, Languedoc- Roussilon, Alsace, Touraine, Côtes-de-Provence, etc.). But who says natural, also says sensitive to climatic hazards and it is sometimes not compatible with certain types of wine such as in Burgundy or Alsace .

Everywhere in France there are committed winegrowers who put their skills at the service of sustainable production that respects the environment. At Oé, we work with truly committed craftsmen who make every effort to ensure that the wine produced at home is as healthy as possible.

You will be able to find our selection of organic and natural wines on our site: organic Provence wines , organic Vaucluse wines , organic Bordeaux wines , organic Languedoc wines , organic Mediterranean wines or organic Côtes du Rhône wines .

Close (esc)
pop-up

Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Search
Our engagements
Shopping Cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now