The Oé team offers delivery from 6 bottles ordered!

The organic wine market in 2020 in France

For almost ten years, the organic wine market has doubled in France to the detriment of the sale of conventional wine. By 2022, forecasts announce the sale of 17.3 million cases of organic wine and 208 million of conventional wine (down) according to the IWSR (International Wine and Spirit Research). The growth of the organic sector reflects the awareness of consumers of the impact of fertilizers and chemical products on their health, their effects on the planet and on viticulture .

Discover Oé, organic, vegan and zero pesticide wines 


The organic wine market in France and around the world

The organic wine market has experienced average growth of 9.2% per year for the past ten years. This figure is only increasing from year to year and forecasts suggest that we will reach 14% growth in the organic wine sector for the period 2017-2022 according to an ISWR study.


The most popular wine regions for white wine are Marlborough in New Zealand and tied Loire, Languedoc and Burgundy. For red wine, the vineyards of Bordeaux (very popular on the Chinese market), the wines of Languedoc Roussillon , Burgundy and the Rhone Valley with its Côtes-du-Rhône for example. 


According to Natexbio, the consumption of organic wine in France will double in 2021 compared to consumption in 2013 and will represent 3.5% of the world market, i.e. 20% of world consumption in 2023.


The vine is 4% of agriculture and 20% of pesticides . The vines are fragile, they are prone to diseases such as Mildew which is treated with Bordeaux mixture produced from copper. To protect the grapes after the harvest , winegrowers add sulphur, the sulphites that you find in your wines. Organic winegrowers also use sulfur but in small doses because the specifications are strict. Many winegrowers manage their terroirs in sustainable cultivation (with the Terra Vitis and High Environmental Value labels) before obtaining the AB label . There are several labels: organic agriculture , biodynamics , natural wine and SAINS wines . The labels for organic viticulture are AB, Ecocert, Nature and Progrès; for biodynamics , there is Demeter and Biodyvin; and for natural wines , there is an AVN association (association of natural wines) but no specifications and control procedure yet.

I discover the Oé cuvées: organic, vegan and zero pesticides


The figures of the organic wine sector

The consumption of organic wine worldwide is increasing every year. Consumers praise it for its respect for the environment and its quality. According to Le Figaro, the market for wine produced in organic farming shows an increase of 14.1% from 2012 to 2017 and economists forecast 9.2% growth from 2017 to 2022. In 2019, France was the 1st exporter in value , the 2nd producer and consumer and the 3rd largest area of ​​vineyards . France, Italy and Spain produced 25% of the world's wine consumption in 2018. The price of a bottle of organic wine would be around 33% more expensive than a bottle of organic wine , knowing that the winemaker certified organic naturally has more work in the vineyard. 


The organic wine market: Consumers

According to Santé Publique France, the alcohol consumption of French people has dropped during confinement. 65% of French people questioned attested that their consumption had remained stable, 24% had reduced it, 11% said they had increased it. 9 out of 10 French people drink less than 10 glasses of alcohol per week and 90% of them do not drink alcohol every day. We are talking about a trend towards deconsumption.


While the consumption of conventional wine is decreasing, organic wine , biodynamic wine , natural wine are on the rise and their market share continues to increase each year. This demand follows the current trend of eating less and better, of favoring quality and Made In France. In short, the opportunity to drink less and better with Oé.



The impact of covid19 on the organic wine market in 2020

Following the covid19 crisis which hit the world economy, CHR (cafés, hotels and restaurants) which represent 30% of the market and wine merchants which hold between 5 and 10% of the wine market were at a standstill. According to an article by Ouest France published in April 2020, The drop in activity in the wine sector has been unprecedented with a drop of 25% in March and almost double for the month of April. The wine trade fairs have been canceled due to the spread of the virus. The 2020 edition of the world's biggest wine fair ProWein in Germany froze wine exports. The loss generated is estimated at around 200 million euros, a loss which weighs down the report of a sector already weakened by the Trump tax, Brexit and the downward trend in wine consumption in France . Even if the consumption of wines in the broad sense is decreasing, the share of consumption of organic wines is increasing. Many players in the sector have launched innovations by offering online fairs and videoconferences.

French winegrowers are the first to be impacted by this global crisis. They announce between 30 and 90% less turnover depending on the regions of France. This crisis heralds a 13% drop in global wine sales. Even online sales by wine players or by winegrowers who have “taken advantage” of confinement to open their online store are not enough to limit losses.


Sources: Le Figaro, Public Health France, Natexbio, Vitisphere, Idealwine, Beverage Department, Terre Nette

Close (esc)
pop-up

Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Search
Our engagements
Shopping Cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now

Le marché du vin bio en 2020 en France

Depuis presque dix ans, le marché du vin bio a doublé en France au détriment de la vente de vin conventionnel. D’ici 2022, les prévisions annoncent la vente de 17,3 millions de caisses de vin bio et 208 millions de vin conventionnel (en baisse) selon l’IWSR (International Wine and Spirit Research). La croissance du secteur bio reflète la prise de conscience des consommateurs de l’impact des engrais et des produits chimiques sur leur santé, de leurs effets sur la planète et sur la viticulture

Découvrez les vins Oé, bio, vegan et zéro pesticide 


Le marché du vin bio en France et dans le monde 

Le marché du vin bio connaît une croissance moyenne de 9,2% par an depuis une dizaine d’années. Ce chiffre ne fait qu’augmenter d’année en année et les prévisions laissent à penser que nous atteindront les 14% de croissance sur le secteur des vins biologiques pour la période 2017-2022 selon une étude de l’ISWR. 


Les régions viticoles les plus plébiscitées pour le vin blanc sont le Marlborough en Nouvelle-Zélande et la Loire ex aequo, le Languedoc et la Bourgogne. Pour le vin rouge, les vignobles de Bordeaux (très populaire sur le marché chinois), les vins du Languedoc Roussillon, de la Bourgogne et la vallée du Rhône avec son Côtes-du-Rhône par exemple. 


Selon Natexbio, la consommation de vin bio en France va doubler en 2021 par rapport à la consommation de 2013 et représentera 3,5 % du marché mondial soit 20% de la consommation mondiale en 2023. 


La vigne, c’est 4% de l’agriculture et 20% des pesticides. Les vignes sont fragiles, elle sont sujettes aux maladies comme le Mildiou qui se traite avec de la bouillie bordelaise produite à base de cuivre. Pour protéger les raisins après les vendanges, les viticulteurs ajoutent du soufre, les sulfites que vous retrouvez dans vos vins. Les vignerons bio utilisent aussi le soufre mais en petite dose car le cahier des charges est strict. De nombreux viticulteurs conduisent leurs terroirs en culture raisonnée (avec les labels Terra Vitis et Haute Valeur Environnementale) avant d’obtenir le label AB. Il y a plusieurs labels : agriculture bio, biodynamie, vin nature et vins SAINS. Les labels de la viticulture bio sont AB, Ecocert, Nature et Progrès ; pour la biodynamie, il y a Demeter et Biodyvin ; et pour les vins naturels, il y a une association AVN (association des vins naturels) mais pas encore de cahier des charges et de procédure de contrôle pour le moment.  

Je découvre les cuvées Oé : bio, vegan et zéro pesticide


Les chiffres du secteur du vin bio 

La consommation du vin bio à l’échelle mondiale augmente chaque année. Les consommateurs le plébiscite pour son respect de l’environnement et sa qualité. Selon le Figaro, le marché du vin produit en agriculture biologique affiche une progression de 14,1% de 2012 à 2017 et les économistes prévoient 9,2% de croissance de 2017 à 2022. En 2019, la France était le 1er exportateur en valeur, le 2eme producteur et consommateur et la 3e plus grande superficie de vignoble. La France, l’Italie et l’Espagne ont produit 25% de la consommation mondiale de vin en 2018. Le prix d’une bouteille de vin biologique serait environ 33% plus chère qu’une bouteille de vin bio, sachant que le viticulteur certifié bio a naturellement plus de travail dans la vigne.  


Le marché du vin bio : Les consommateurs 

Selon Santé Publique France, la consommation d’alcool des français a baissé pendant le confinement. 65% des français interrogés ont attesté que leur consommation était restée stable, 24% l’ont diminuée, 11% déclarent l’avoir augmentée. 9 français sur 10 boivent moins de 10 verres d’alcool par semaine et 90% d’entre eux ne boivent pas d’alcool tous les jours. On parle de tendance à la déconsommation.


Alors que la consommation de vin conventionnel décroît, le vin bio, le vin biodynamique, le vin naturel ont le vent en poupe et leur part de marché ne cesse d’augmenter chaque année. Cette demande suit la tendance actuelle du manger moins et mieux, de privilégier la qualité et le Made In France. En bref, l’occasion de boire moins et mieux avec Oé.  



L’impact du covid19 sur le marché du vin bio en 2020 

Suite à la crise du covid19 qui a frappé l’économie mondiale, les CHR (cafés, hôtels et restaurants) qui représentent 30% du marché et les cavistes qui détiennent entre 5 et 10% du marché du vin étaient à l’arrêt. Selon un article de Ouest France publié en avril 2020, La baisse d’activité dans le secteur du vin a été sans précédent avec une baisse de 25% en mars et près du double pour le mois d’avril. Les salons des professionnels du vin ont été annulé à cause de la propagation du virus. L’édition 2020 du plus gros salon mondial du vin ProWein en Allemagne a gelé les exportations de vins. La perte engendrée est chiffrée aux alentours de 200 millions d’euros, perte qui alourdit le constat d’un secteur déjà fragilisé par la taxe trump, le brexit et la tendance à la baisse de la consommation de vin en France. Même si la consommation de vins au sens large est à la baisse, la part de la consommation des vins biologiques, elle, augmente. De nombreux acteurs de la filière ont lancé des innovations en proposant des salons en ligne et des visioconférences. 

Les vignerons français sont les premiers à être impactés de cette crise mondiale. Ils annoncent entre 30 et 90% de chiffre d’affaires en moins selon les régions de France. Cette crise annonce une baisse de 13% des ventes mondiales de vin. Même les ventes en ligne par des acteurs du vin ou par les vignerons qui ont “profité” du confinement pour ouvrir leur boutique en ligne ne suffisent pas à limiter les pertes. 


Sources : le Figaro, Santé Publique France, Natexbio, Vitisphère, Idealwine, Rayon Boissons, Terre Nette

Fermer (esc)

Popup

Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Recherche
Menu principal
Panier
Votre panier est vide.
Boutique