The Oé team offers delivery from 6 bottles ordered!

Pepper to replace sulphites in organic wine?

When winemakers produce wine, they mostly use sulfites . They are diffused on the vine leaves to prevent diseases; in the barrel , the tank or the lightning to disinfect before raising the new cuvées; and to preserve wine once bottled. Sulfur or sulfites are not unhealthy as long as they are used sparingly. In organic farming, they are regulated by strict specifications and therefore used in small quantities. However, some winemakers have found a new, harmless alternative for their sulfite- free wines : pepper .

What are sulphur, sulphites?

The role of sulphites in wine

Sulfites have been found in wines for over 50 years. They stabilize the wine and prevent disease. In recent years, more and more winegrowers have embarked on a conversion to organic farming. Their goal ? Protect their health, that of consumers and the planet. They are therefore all the more careful with their use of sulfur that they reduce to the maximum authorized according to the specifications of organic farming, or even for some, produce wines without sulfur .



Sulphur, S02, sulphites: what's the difference?  

Sulphites , SO2 and sulfur are the names used to talk about the material that is added to the vines, in the vats and in the bottle. Sulfur is the raw material, S02 is its chemical name, and sulphites are a mixture of sulfur and oxygen found in wine.



Sulphites, naturally present in grapes

Naturally, a small amount of sulfur is present on the skin of grapes . It protects against the attacks of external diseases.


In organic farming , the authorized doses of sulfur are 100mg/l for red wines , 150mg/l for white wines and rosés, 205mg/l for sparkling wines and sparkling wines, 170mg/l for liqueur wines and 270mg/l for sweet wines and 370mg/l for sweet wines.


In biodynamics , the doses are 70mg/l for red wines , 90mg/l for white wines and rosé wines , 60mg/l for sparkling and sparkling wines, 80mg/l for liqueur wines and 200mg/l for sweet wines.


For natural wines , the doses of sulfur are 30mg/l for red wines, 40mg/l for white wines and rosés, 40mg/l for sparkling wines and sparkling wines, 40mg/l for liqueur wines and 40mg/l for sweet wines and 40mg/l for sweet wines.


Conventional wines have around 150mg/l for reds (i.e. more than 4 times the dose used for natural wines), 200mg/l for whites and rosés, 235mg/l for sparkling and sparkling wines, 200mg/l for liqueurs, 300mg/l for sweets and 400mg/l for sweets.


This means that in organic farming , on a hectolitre of red wine (100 litres), the winegrower puts 10 grams of sulfur to protect his red wine from external aggressions; for natural wines, 3 grams ; and for conventional wines, 15 grams .


In some conventionally grown vineyards , winegrowers have no limit on the use of sulfur and use it in large quantities each time they are spread.

Depending on the color of the wine, the dose will not be the same. Indeed, the tannins of red wines naturally allow the wine to be better preserved. Cabernet Sauvignon , which is a red grape variety widely used in the vineyards of Bordeaux, produces very tannic wines. If we take the example of this Bordeaux grape variety, not adding sulfur makes it possible to produce a better quality wine. By reducing or eliminating the amount of sulfur, we produce even healthier wines, which will not be affected by the taste of SO2. By taking care of the grapes and the chai, the juice is healthy and does not need to suffer from an overdose of sulphur.



Pepper instead of sulphites in wine

The properties of pepper

Pepper would have the same action on the conservation of organic wines as sulphur. This method comes straight from the Middle Ages and has been brought up to date by a few French winegrowers. The wine is therefore without added sulfur and contains approximately 0.002% organic pepper. Indeed, pepper seeds are alkaloids that have antimicrobial effects and act as antioxidants in wine. When entonnage (putting the wine in a barrel), the winemaker replaces the dose of sulphites with pepper without disturbing the balance of the wine. The quantity of pepper is limited so as not to smell when tasted, one spoon, or the equivalent of 2 grams for 1 hectolitre of wine . The wine is then aged in barrels for a year. This method is inspired by salting, which allows the meat to be preserved for months with salt and pepper.



An alternative to sulphites: pepper 

Adding pepper to organic wine is an alternative to using sulfur because it protects the wines. This innovation could be a game-changer, especially for conventional wineries that use chemical fertilizers and pesticides. Between the different methods of wine production: organic wines, biodynamic wines, natural wines or healthy wines , the winegrowers had to show inventiveness to preserve the wine. A vine in good health and pampered by the winegrowers who take care of it knows how to reciprocate by producing good grapes.

Close (esc)
pop-up

Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Search
Our engagements
Shopping Cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now

Le poivre pour remplacer les sulfites dans le vin bio ?

Lorsque les vignerons produisent du vin, ils utilisent pour la plupart des sulfites. Ils sont diffusés sur les feuilles de vigne pour prévenir des maladies ; dans la barrique, la cuve ou le foudre pour désinfecter avant d’élever les nouvelles cuvées ; et pour conserver le vin une fois embouteillé. Le soufre ou les sulfites ne sont pas mauvais pour la santé tant qu’ils sont utilisés avec parcimonie. En agriculture biologique, ils sont réglementés par un cahier des charges strict et donc utilisés en petite quantité. Cependant, certains viticulteurs ont trouvé une nouvelle alternative non nocive pour leurs vins sans sulfites : le poivre

Qu’est-ce que le soufre, les sulfites ? 

Le rôle des sulfites dans le vin 

On trouve des sulfites dans les vins depuis plus de 50 ans. Ils permettent de stabiliser le vin et de prévenir des maladies. Depuis quelques années, de plus en plus de vignerons se lancent dans une conversion en agriculture biologique. Leur but ? Protéger leur santé, celle des consommateurs et la planète. Ils font donc d’autant plus attention à leur utilisation de soufre qu’ils réduisent au maximum autorisé selon le cahier des charges de l’agriculture biologique, voire même pour certains, produisent des vins sans soufre



Soufre, S02, sulfites : quelle différence ?  

Les sulfites, le SO2 et le soufre sont les noms utilisés pour parler de la matière que l’on ajoute sur les vignes, dans les cuves et en bouteille. Le soufre est la matière brute, le S02 est son nom chimique, et les sulfites sont un mélange de soufre et d’oxygène que l’on retrouve dans le vin. 



Les sulfites, présents naturellement sur les raisins

À l’état naturel, une petite quantité de soufre est présente sur la peau du raisin. Il permet de se protéger des attaques de maladies extérieures.


En agriculture biologique, les doses de soufre autorisées sont de 100mg/l pour les vins rouges, 150mg/l pour les vins blancs et les rosés, 205mg/l pour les mousseux et les vins effervescents, 170mg/l pour les vins de liqueur et 270mg/l pour les vins moelleux et 370mg/l pour les liquoreux. 


En biodynamie, les doses sont de 70mg/l pour les vins rouges, 90mg/l pour les vins blancs et les vins rosés, 60mg/l pour les mousseux et effervescents, 80mg/l pour les vins de liqueur et 200 mg/l pour les vins liquoreux. 


Pour les vins nature, les doses de soufre sont de 30mg/l pour les vins rouges, 40mg/l pour les vins blancs et les rosés, 40mg/l pour les mousseux et les vins effervescents, 40mg/l pour les vins de liqueur et 40mg/l pour les vins moelleux et 40mg/l pour les liquoreux. 


Les vins conventionnels ont autour de 150mg/l pour les rouges (soit plus de 4 fois la dose utilisée pour les vins nature), 200mg/l pour les blancs et rosés, 235mg/l pour les mousseux et les vins effervescents, 200mg/l pour les liqueurs, 300mg/l pour les moelleux et 400mg/l pour les liquoreux. 


Cela signifie qu’en agriculture biologique, sur un hectolitre de vin rouge (100 litres), le vigneron met 10 grammes de soufre pour protéger son vin rouge des agressions extérieures ; pour les vins nature, 3 grammes ; et pour les vins conventionnels, 15 grammes


Dans certaines exploitations viticoles en culture conventionnelle, les viticulteurs n’ont pas de limite d’utilisation du soufre et en utilisent en grande quantité à chaque épandage. 

En fonction de la couleur du vin, la dose ne sera pas la même. En effet, les tannins des vins rouges permettent de naturellement mieux conserver le vin. Le Cabernet Sauvignon qui est un cépage de raisin rouge beaucoup utilisé dans les vignobles de Bordeaux produit des vins très tanniques. Si nous prenons l’exemple de ce cépage bordelais, ne pas ajouter de soufre permet de produire un vin de meilleure qualité. En diminuant ou en supprimant la quantité de soufre, on produit des vins encore meilleurs pour la santé, qui ne seront pas altérés par le goût du SO2. En prenant soin des raisins et du chai, le jus est sain et n’a pas besoin de subir un surdosage de soufre.  



Du poivre à la place des sulfites dans le vin

Les propriétés du poivre 

Le poivre aurait la même action sur la conservation des vins biologiques que le soufre. Cette méthode nous vient tout droit du Moyen-Âge et a été remise au goût du jour par quelques vignerons français. Le vin est donc sans soufre ajouté et contient environ 0,002% de poivre biologique. En effet, les graines de poivre sont des alcaloïdes qui ont des effets antimicrobiens et qui jouent le rôle d’antioxydants sur le vin. À l’entonnage (la mise du vin dans un tonneau), le vigneron remplace la dose de sulfites par du poivre sans perturber l’équilibre du vin. La quantité de poivre est limitée pour ne pas se sentir à la dégustation, une cuillère, soit l’équivalent de 2 grammes pour 1 hectolitre de vin. Le vin est ensuite élevé en barriques pendant un an. Cette méthode s’inspire de la salaison qui permet de conserver pendant des mois la viande avec du sel et du poivre.



Une alternative aux sulfites : le poivre 

Ajouter du poivre dans le vin bio est une alternative à l'utilisation du soufre car il permet de protéger les vins. Cette innovation pourrait changer la donne et notamment pour les domaines viticoles conventionnels qui utilisent engrais et pesticides chimiques. Entre les différentes méthodes de production des vins : vins biologiques, vins biodynamiques, vins nature ou vins sains, les vignerons ont dû faire preuve d’inventivité pour conserver le vin. Une vigne en bonne santé et choyée par les viticulteurs qui s’en occupent sait rendre la pareille en produisant du bon raisin. 

Fermer (esc)

Popup

Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Recherche
Menu principal
Panier
Votre panier est vide.
Boutique