The colors of red wine: the whole color palette

The dress of a red wine is full of nuances . Examining it by tilting our glass opens up beautiful discussions around its color and the notes of the wine. Do you know how wine gets its beautiful color? You've always wondered, so here we go, we'll shed some light on the subject.

wine color


Winemaking: what gives color to red wine

After the harvest, comes the vinification of the wine. When the grapes are pressed , it is the color of the grape skin , the tannins and the maceration time of the must in the juice that will define the color and aromas of the wine. White grapes give white wine (or even orange wine), and black or purple-red grapes mostly give red or rosé wines.

Discover more information on red wine , white wine , rosé wine

The pellicular film which is on the skin of the grape is filled with pigments which color the wine when the juice macerates. These pigments are called anthocyanins . They are naturally present in vine leaves and dissolve in water. They are the ones that give color to the juice when the skins macerate during vinification.


However, it's not just the color of the grape that plays on her dress. Indeed, a black or purple grape can give a white wine because its flesh is white. And if the skins, which are colored, do not remain in contact with the juice during vinification , the wine will be white. This is for example the case of certain “blancs de noirs” champagnes , which means that the champagne is made from black grapes that have not macerated in their skins.


For white wines, fermentation plays an important role in the color of the wine when it is tasted. During this process, the sugar is transformed into alcohol thanks to the yeasts present on the skin of the grapes. The more sugars there are (in the grapes that produce sweet to syrupy wines), the thicker and golden yellow the wine will be. Conversely, the drier the wine, the more its color will be pale yellow. Dry wines have a certain acidity on the palate, freshness and minerality, especially for Alsace wines.


For rosé, the must macerates in the grape juice for a few days in barrels , barrels or vats . After a few days, a saignée rosé , which is generally very colorful, can be drawn from the bottom of the vat, or a pressing rosé , a method which consists of pressing the grapes directly 2 or 3 hours after crushing. The pressing rosé is rosé is light and pale.



The range of red wine colors from one appellation to another

The color of a red wine can range from raspberry to tiled orange . You can taste a red wine with a violet , garnet , purple or ruby ​​red color . This color can turn towards brick orange depending on the aging of the wine.


Raspberry or purplish red

Very young wine

1 to 2 years

Garnet

Young wine

3 to 5 years

Ruby red

Mature wine

8 to 15 years old

Tiled Orange

old wine

More than 15 years


The type of grape variety also affects the color and intensity of the color of the wine. For example, a Burgundy wine made from the Pinot Noir grape variety will always have a color in shades of purple and an aromatic finesse with hints of cherry . And a very fruity Côtes-du-Rhône in Syrah , has a very voluptuous, opaque color and a beautiful tannic structure like Cabernet , a grape variety mainly used for Bordeaux AOC crus .

BLOCK_PRODUCT:oe-le-cotes-du-rhone-rouge

The climate in which the vines evolve also plays a role in the color of the wine: the sun, the altitude, the temperature, the inclination of the different parcels of vineyards , etc. These are all the characteristics that will give the wine its typicality . The aging and aging of the wines also have an impact on the colour, which will evolve over time.

From the vine to the cellar , the winegrowers cherish their grapes to make delicious nectars. Once the wines have matured, for certain cuvées, they make blends of different grape varieties, which will have an influence on the color of the color of the wine. Once the blends are made and bottled, it's time for tasting in your favorite cellars!

BLOCK_PRODUCT:box-discovery-oe

To summarize, the color of red wine is related to three factors: its grape variety(ies ), the maceration time of the grape skins in the juice, and the age of the wine . For white wine, its color depends on its grape variety (ies ), fermentation and age . For rosé, the color depends on its vinification method: bleeding or pressing, and the grape varieties used.


With the team, we invite you to learn a little more about these regions and appellations by reading our articles on the wines of the following different appellations:


Provence organic wines  

Vaucluse organic wines

Bordeaux organic wines 

Languedoc organic wines

Mediterranean organic wines

Organic Côtes du Rhône wines

Les couleurs du vin rouge : toute la palette de robes

La robe d’un vin rouge est pleine de nuances. L’examiner en inclinant notre verre ouvre de belles discussions autour de sa couleur et des notes du vin. Savez-vous comment le vin obtient sa belle couleur ? Vous vous l’êtes toujours demandé, alors c’est parti, on éclaire votre lanterne sur le sujet. 

couleur de la robe du vin


Vinification : qu’est-ce qui donne la couleur au vin rouge

Après les vendanges, vient la vinification du vin. Au moment du pressurage des raisins, c’est la couleur de la peau du raisin, les tanins et le temps de macération du moût dans le jus qui vont définir la couleur et les arômes du vin. Les raisins blancs donnent du vin blanc (ou même du vin orange), et les raisins noirs ou rouges violets donnent majoritairement des vins rouges ou des rosés. 

Découvrez plus d’information sur le vin rouge, vin blanc, vin rosé

Le film pelliculaire qui se trouve sur la peau du raisin est rempli de pigments qui colorent le vin lorsque le jus macère. Ces pigments, on les appelle anthocyanes. Ils sont présents naturellement dans les feuilles de vigne et se dissoudent dans l’eau. Ce sont eux qui donnent la couleur au jus lorsque les peaux macèrent lors de la vinification. 


Cependant, il n’y a pas que la couleur du raisin qui joue sur sa robe. En effet, un raisin noir ou violet peut donner un vin blanc car sa chair est blanche. Et si les peaux, qui elles sont colorées, ne restent pas en contact avec le jus lors de la vinification, le vin sera blanc. C’est par exemple le cas de certains champagne “blancs de noirs”, ce qui signifie que le champagne est fait à partir de raisins noirs qui n’ont pas macérés dans leurs pellicules. 


Pour les vins blancs, la fermentation joue un rôle important sur la couleur du vin lorsqu’il sera dégusté. Pendant ce processus, le sucre se transforme en alcool grâce aux levures présentes sur la peau des raisins. Plus il y a de sucres (dans les raisins qui produisent les vins moelleux à liquoreux), plus le vin sera épais et couleur jaune or. À l’inverse, plus le vin est sec, plus sa robe sera jaune pâle. Les vins secs présentent une certaine acidité en bouche, de la fraîcheur et de la minéralité, notamment pour les vins d’Alsace.  


Pour le rosé, le moût macère dans le jus de raisin pendant quelques jours en fûts, barriques ou cuves. Au bout de quelques jours, on peut soutirer en bas de la cuve un rosé de saignée, qui est généralement très coloré ou un rosé de pressurage, méthode qui consiste à presser directement les raisins 2 ou 3h après le foulage. Le rosé de pressurage est rosé est léger et pâle. 



La palette des robes du vin rouge d’une appellation à l’autre

La robe d’un vin rouge peut aller de la couleur framboise à orange tuilé. Vous pouvez déguster un vin rouge avec une robe rouge violet, grenat, pourpre ou rubis. Cette teinte peut virer vers l’orange tuilé selon le vieillissement du vin. 


Framboise ou rouge violacé

Vin très jeune

1 à 2 ans

Grenat 

Vin jeune

3 à 5 ans

Rouge rubis

Vin à maturité 

8 à 15 ans

Orange tuilé

Vin vieux

Plus de 15 ans


Le type de cépage joue aussi sur la couleur et l’intensité de la robe du vin. Par exemple, un vin de Bourgogne à base du cépage Pinot Noir aura toujours une robe dans les tons pourpres et une aromatique tout en finesse avec des notes de cerise. Et un Côtes-du-Rhône en Syrah très fruité, a une robe très voluptueuse, opaque et une belle structure tannique comme le Cabernet, cépage principalement utilisé pour les crus de Bordeaux AOC.


Le climat dans lesquels les vignes évoluent joue aussi un rôle sur la robe du vin : le soleil, l’altitude, la température, l’inclinaison des différentes parcelles des vignobles, etc. Ce sont toutes ces caractéristiques qui vont donner au vin sa typicité. L’élevage et le vieillissement des vins impactent aussi sur la robe qui va évoluer au fil du temps. 

De la vigne à la cave, les vignerons chérissent leurs raisins pour en faire de délicieux nectars. Une fois les vins élevés, ils font pour certaines cuvées des assemblages de différents cépages, qui vont avoir une influence sur la couleur de la robe du vin. Une fois les assemblages faits et embouteillés, place à la dégustation dans vos caves préférées ! 

Pour résumer, la couleur du vin rouge est liée à trois facteurs : son ou ses cépages, le temps de macération des peaux de raisin dans le jus et l’âge du vin. Pour le vin blanc, sa couleur dépend de son ou ses cépages, de la fermentation et de son âge. Pour le rosé, la robe dépend de sa méthode de vinification : la saignée ou le pressurage, et des cépages utilisés. 


Avec l’équipe, on vous propose d’en savoir un peu plus sur ces régions et appellations en lisant nos articles sur les vins des différentes appellations suivantes : 


Vins bio Provence  

Vins bio Vaucluse

Vins bio Bordeaux 

Vins bio Languedoc

Vins bio Méditerranée 

Vins bio Côtes du Rhône
Fermer (esc)

Popup

Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Recherche
Menu principal
Panier
Votre panier est vide.
Boutique