The Oé team offers delivery from 6 bottles ordered!

All about white wine

All about the types of white wine

The secrets of its elaboration

It was discovered following the natural fermentation of grape juice . It has gone through the ages, and nowadays its manufacture is made according to the same principle, but the manufacturing stages have been perfected by man to have a better quality product.

The wine obtained depends primarily on the grape variety. It is a word used to designate varieties of vines . White wine comes from the alcoholic fermentation of particular grape varieties: white grapes or grapes with white juice.

There are several types of white grape varieties that are grown by winemakers to make good white wine .

The best known are those listed below:

  • Muscat blanc : This is a whole family of grape varieties, but the most popular among them is Muscat blanc à petits grains. What characterizes this grape family is its fruity aroma (grapefruit, musk, table grapes, etc.). It is mainly found in Alsace, Italy, Australia…

  • Riesling : Depending on the terroir ( limestone, clayey, granite soils, etc.), it can give different types of wine. Riesling has a strong fragrance. The main aromas are lemon, cinnamon, kerosene, lime blossom… It is mainly found in Alsace and Germany where it is considered the noblest grape variety, in Spain, Canada and America. It can be used in particular for the production of sparkling wines such as the famous Crémant d'Alsace .

  • Gewurztraminer : This is a grape variety that stands out for its strong aromaticity. We can distinguish pineapple, lychee, nutmeg and rose aromas. It is also found in Austria, Germany, Canada.
  • Chardonnay : This is the reference grape variety in the production of dry white wine. It has several aromas: peach, butter, citrus, lychee, pear. Throughout the world, the white wines of Burgundy and the Loire Valley are a benchmark . Montrachet , a Côtes d'Or appellation, is a Chardonnay considered the greatest dry white wine in the world, just that. Chardonnay with Pinot Noir are often used in Burgundy to produce wonderful Champagnes , these sparkling wines with an elegant look, synonymous with celebration ! This variety is also found in South Africa, Canada, Australia, Italy and other countries.

Liquid error: product form must be given a product

from


  • Sauvignon blanc: This is a worldwide grown grape variety. Two of the best white wines in the world are made with this grape variety. It presents aromas of herbs, green fruits, mint and apple.

  • Muscadelle : Traditional grape variety of Bordeaux, this grape variety is very sensitive, it produces very good sweet and syrupy white wines but it can easily fall ill. The winegrower must therefore take very good care of it.

  • Pinot Gris : Like its cousins ​​Pinot blanc and Pinot noir, this grape variety is at home in the far east. It is highly appreciated in the production of Alsace wines for its roundness in the mouth and its robust character.

  • Chenin blanc : This grape variety makes its good chenin, sorry, way, in the Loire Valley to produce good dry and sweet white wines depending on the vineyards and appellations . Well worked, it can produce great white wines , and it is even used for certain sparkling wines ( Crémant de Loire, Crémant de Limoux ).

In the Rhône Valley, too, you can taste very good white wines. If you doubt it, taste our good organic white wine, the white Côtes-du-Rhône .

These grape varieties follow well-defined processes before ending up in the bottle in a wine cellar .

From grape variety to wine

The vinification steps can vary from one manufacturer to another, but generally they look like this:

  • The grape harvest: It is the harvest of the grapes. It is done in two ways, by hand or using a harvesting machine. This is a delicate operation, as it ensures the quality of the raw material used.

  • Destemming and crushing: Destemming consists of separating the stalks from the berries. The crushing consists of the bursting of the grains thus separating the skin from the flesh. These are optional steps.

  • Pressing: it takes place after the harvest or after destemming and crushing. Pressing consists of passing the grapes through a press in order to extract the juice. The pressure applied must be carefully measured. If it is too strong, vegetable matter will be extracted with the juice and will give an acid and grassy taste to the wine. The operation must be done below 12°C in order to avoid premature alcoholic fermentation.

  • Settling: this stage consists of removing the solid particles (lees) from the juice. Two methods can be used: decantation or centrifugation.

  • Sulphiting: the must of white grapes is very sensitive to oxidation, which is why sulfur dioxide is added to it. This helps stabilize the juice.

  • Alcoholic fermentation: the grape retains the natural yeasts during its fermentation. But some producers add it manually to stimulate the process. Fermentation lasts about ten days. Malolactic fermentation is reserved for red wines. This fermentation is avoided for white wines and rosé wines in order to keep the liveliness of the wine .

  • Breeding: It can be done in two ways. The first is to put the wine in large barrels with the lees. The wine then undergoes a malolactic fermentation to give a softer wine. The second way is to store the wine for a few weeks without lees. Before bottling, the wine will be subjected to microfiltration to obtain browned wine.

Each producer can add his personal touch to produce varieties of wine.

To know the difference between IGP and AOC, dive into this article

Read also this article on the mysteries of yellow wine!

The different kinds of white wine

On the market, there are several kinds of white wines on sale:

  • Powerful dry whites: These are dry white wines aged in large oak barrels. The taste is intense.

  • Light or semi-dry dry whites : These are lighter and more delicate wines with a fine citrus aroma.

Read also this detailed article on dry white wine

The production of white wine and its manufacture are very delicate. They are branded drinks that represent the pride of their producers and the region. Let us cite a few examples: the Muenchberg, the Steinert; there are white Bordeaux wines like Bordeaux de Maucaillou blanc… And also wines from the great vintages .

We invite you to discover in this article the difference between natural white wines, biodynamic white wines and organic white wines.

To understand what a vegan wine means, it's happening here

The notes of white wine

The juice of white wine, unlike that of red wine, does not macerate with the grains and skins of the grapes. It is for this reason that white wines are not tannic , they are less rough in the mouth and more lively . We really appreciate their lightness and their pleasant roundness in the mouth.


White wines for laying down, which are sweeter, develop tertiary aromas with flavors of candied fruit, vanilla, tobacco or straw. The drier white wines are finer, sometimes with mineral notes , a hint of acidity and a floral and fruity aromatic bouquet .

Food and wine pairings

Having fun with a white wine is child's play! This wine is a chameleon and goes well with many dishes, just choose the right ones to find the perfect balance.


Natural sweet wines , even sweet wines, such as Savoie wines , yellow wines , straw wines from the Jura or sweet wines from Alsace are real wonders for the palate when you combine them with foie gras , cheeses from goat cheese , blue-veined cheeses and especially cheeses from the region! To make a flawless in your food/wine pairings, the security is to opt for a wine and a dish from the same region.


Its association with seafood is a must in white wine . This wine perfectly highlights seafood such as oysters and mussels , and our white Bordeaux goes perfectly with products from the South-West .


Liquid error: product form must be given a product

from



White -fleshed fish and white meats are also very good options to go with a good bottle of white wine . You can grill them on the barbecue or bake them with a little aromatic herbs and a lemon sauce and you're done! Easy right?


If you are real experts, you can also have fun cooking a good blanquette to impress the gallery. Served with a white wine, you may see Jean Dujardin arrive to ask you “how is your blanquette?” ! ;)


Sometimes forgotten, products such as asparagus or artichokes accompanied by a good homemade mayonnaise and a glass of Muscadet are excellent for starting a meal in style!

The colors of white wine

Wine is a story of aromas and color . We use the term “ dress ” to talk about the visual aspect of the wine. With such a word, impossible not to dream. Using the word dress gives life to the wine, we dress it and we recognize one of its great qualities, its aestheticism to die for.

Who hasn't cracked in front of a beautiful glass of white wine?


At the tasting, the wine is served in the glass and then swirled to observe its color and smell it. The tears (or legs) of the wine then take shape on the edges of the glass, creating a true work of art.


The color of white wine ranges from yellow-green to red. The younger the wine, the clearer, paler its color with green highlights . When it matures, its coloring evolves towards more golden, even orange tones.




Read more...

Pink wine

Festive wines

The Red wine

Close (esc)
pop-up

Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Search
Our engagements
Shopping Cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now

Tout savoir sur le vin blanc

Tout savoir sur les sortes de vin blanc

 

Les secrets de son élaboration

Il fut découvert suite à la fermentation naturelle du jus de raisin. Il a traversé les âges, et de nos jours sa fabrication est faite selon le même principe, mais les étapes de fabrication ont été perfectionnées par l’homme pour avoir un produit de meilleure qualité.

Le vin obtenu dépend en premier lieu du cépage. C’est un mot utilisé pour désigner les variétés de vignes. Le vin blanc provient de la fermentation alcoolique de cépages particuliers : des raisins blancs ou des raisins à jus blanc.

Il existe plusieurs types de cépages blancs qui sont cultivés par les vignerons pour la fabrication d’un bon vin blanc.

Les plus connus sont ceux cités ci-dessous :

  • Le Muscat blanc : C’est toute une famille de cépages, mais le plus populaire parmi eux est le muscat blanc à petits grains. Ce qui caractérise cette famille de cépage est son arôme fruité (pamplemousse, musc, raisin de table, etc.). On le trouve principalement en Alsace, Italie, Australie…

  • Le riesling : Selon les terroirs (sols calcaires, argileux, graniteux…), il peut donner différents types de vin. Le riesling a un fort parfum. Les arômes principaux sont le citron, la cannelle, le kérosène, le tilleul… On le retrouve principalement en Alsace et en Allemagne où il est considéré comme le cépage le plus noble, en Espagne, au Canada et en Amérique. Il peut notamment être utilisé pour l’élaboration de vins mousseux comme le fameux Crémant d’Alsace.

  • Le Gewurztraminer : C’est un cépage qui se distingue par sa forte aromaticité. On peut distinguer les arômes ananas, litchi, muscade et rose. On le retrouve également en Autriche, Allemagne, Canada.
  • Le Chardonnay : C’est le cépage de référence dans la fabrication de vin blanc sec. Il dispose de plusieurs arômes : pêche, beurre, agrume, litchi, poire. Dans le monde entier, les vins blancs de Bourgogne et Vallée de la Loire sont une référence. Le Montrachet, une appellation des Côtes d’Or, est un Chardonnay considéré comme le plus grand vin blanc sec au monde, rien que ça.  Le Chardonnay avec le Pinot noir sont souvent utilisé en Bourgogne pour produire les merveilleux Champagnes, ces vins effervescants à l’allure élégante, synonyme de fête ! Ce cépage est aussi retrouvé en Afrique du Sud, Canada, Australie, Italie et dans d’autres pays.

Liquid error: product form must be given a product

À partir de


  • Le Sauvignon blanc : C’est un cépage mondialement cultivé. Deux des meilleurs vins blancs du monde sont faits avec ce cépage. Il présente des arômes d’herbes, de fruits verts, de menthe et de pomme.

  • La Muscadelle : Cépage traditionnel de Bordeaux, ce cépage est un grand sensible, il produit de très bons vins blancs doux et liquoreux mais il peut facilement tomber malade. Le vigneron doit donc en prendre très soin.

  • Le Pinot Gris : Comme ses cousins le Pinot blanc et le Pinot noir, ce cépage est à la maison dans le grand Est. Il est très apprécié dans l'élaboration des vins d’Alsace pour sa rondeur en bouche et son côté charpenté.

  • Le Chenin blanc : Ce cépage fait son bonhomme de chenin, pardon, de chemin, dans la Vallée de la Loire pour produire des bons vins blancs secs et moelleux en fonction des vignobles et des appellations. Bien travaillé, il peut produire de grands vins blancs, et il est même utilisé pour certains pétillants (Crémant de Loire, Crémant de Limoux).

Dans la Vallée du Rhône aussi on déguste de très bons vins blancs. Si vous en doutez, goûtez donc notre bon vin blanc bio, le Côtes-du-Rhône blanc.

Ces cépages suivent des processus bien définis avant de se retrouver en bouteille dans une cave à vin.

 

Du cépage au vin

Les étapes de vinification peuvent varier d’un fabricant à un autre, mais de manière générale elles se présentent comme cela :

  • Les vendanges : C’est la récolte du raisin. Elle se fait de deux manières, à la main ou à l’aide d’une machine à vendanger. C’est une opération délicate, car elle assure la qualité de la matière première utilisée.

  • L’égrappage et foulage : L’égrappage consiste à séparer les rafles des baies. Le foulage consiste à l’éclatement des grains séparant ainsi la peau de la chair. Ce sont des étapes facultatives.

  • Le pressurage : il a lieu à la suite de la vendange ou après l’égrappage et le foulage. Le pressurage consiste à faire passer le raisin dans un pressoir en vue d’extraire le jus. La pression appliquée doit être minutieusement dosée. Si elle est trop forte, des matières végétales seront extraites avec le jus et donneront un goût acide et herbacé au vin. L’opération doit être faite en dessous de 12°C afin d’éviter une fermentation alcoolique précoce.

  • Le débourbage : cette étape consiste à enlever les particules solides (bourbes) du jus. Deux méthodes peuvent être utilisées : la décantation ou la centrifugation.

  • Le sulfitage : le moût des raisins blancs est très sensible à l’oxydation, c’est pourquoi on y ajoute du dioxyde de soufre. Cela permet de stabiliser le jus.

  • La fermentation alcoolique : le raisin détient les levures naturelles à sa fermentation. Mais certains producteurs en rajoutent manuellement afin de stimuler le processus. La fermentation dure dix jours environ. La fermentation malolactique est réservée aux vins rouges. On évite cette fermentation pour les vins blancs et vins rosés afin de garder la vivacité du vin.

  • L’élevage : Il peut se faire de deux façons. La première, c’est de mettre le vin dans de grands fûts avec les lies. Le vin subit alors une fermentation malolactique pour donner un vin plus doux. La deuxième façon est de stocker le vin pendant quelques semaines sans lies. Avant la mise en bouteille, le vin sera soumis à une microfiltration pour avoir du vin branc.

Chaque producteur peut y ajouter sa touche personnelle pour produire des variétés de vin.

Pour connaître la différence entre les IGP et les AOC, plongez-vous dans cet article

Lire aussi cet article sur les mystères du vin jaune !

Les différentes sortes de vin blanc

Sur le marché, il existe plusieurs sortes de vins blancs mis en vente :

  • Les blancs secs puissants : Ce sont des vins blancs secs élevés dans de grands fûts en chêne. Le goût est intense.

  • Les blancs secs légers ou demi-sec : Ce sont des vins plus légers et délicats avec un arôme fin d’agrumes.

 

Lire aussi cet article détaillé sur le vin blanc sec

 

La production de vin blanc et sa fabrication sont très délicates. Ce sont des boissons de marque qui représentent la fierté de leurs producteurs et de la région. Citons quelques exemples : le Muenchberg, le Steinert ; il y a les vins blancs de bordeaux comme bordeaux de Maucaillou blanc… Et aussi des vins de grands crus.

On vous propose de découvrir dans cet article la différence entre les vins blancs nature, vins blancs biodynamiques et vins blancs biologiques

Pour comprendre ce que signifie un vin vegan, ça se passe ici

 

Les notes du vin blanc

Le jus du vin blanc, contrairement à celui du vin rouge, ne macère pas avec les grains et les peaux du raisin. C’est pour cette raison que les vins blancs ne sont pas tanniques, qu'ils sont moins râpeux en bouche et plus vifs. On apprécie beaucoup leur légèreté et leur rondeur si agréable en bouche. 


Les vins blancs de garde, plus sucrés, développent des arômes tertiaires aux parfums de fruits confits, de vanille, de tabac ou de paille. Les vins blancs plus secs sont plus fins, avec parfois des notes minérales, une pointe d’acidité et un bouquet aromatique floral et fruité

 

Accords mets et vins

Se faire plaisir avec un vin blanc est un jeu d’enfant ! Ce vin est un caméléon et s’accorde avec beaucoup de mets, il suffit de choisir les bons pour trouver l’équilibre parfait.


Les vins doux naturels, voire liquoreux, comme les vins de Savoie, les vins jaunes, les vins de paille du Jura ou les vins doux d’Alsace sont de vraies merveilles pour le palais lorsque vous les associez avec du foie gras, des fromages de chèvre, des fromages à pâte persillé et surtout des fromages de la région ! Pour faire un sans faute dans vos accords mets/vin, la sécurité est d’opter pour un vin et un mets de la même région.


Son association avec les produits de la mer est un incontournable du vin blanc. Ce vin met parfaitement en valeur les fruits de mer comme les huîtres et les moules, et notre Bordeaux blanc se marie parfaitement avec les produits du Sud-Ouest


Liquid error: product form must be given a product

À partir de



Les poissons à chaires blanches tout comme les viandes blanches sont aussi de très bonnes options pour aller avec une bonne bouteille de vin blanc. Vous pouvez les griller au barbecue ou les enfourner avec un peu d’herbes aromatiques et une sauce au citron et le tour est joué ! Facile non ?


Si vous êtes des vrais experts, vous pouvez aussi vous amuser à cuisiner une bonne blanquette pour impressionner la galerie. Servie avec un vin blanc, vous risquez de voir arriver Jean Dujardin pour vous demander “comment est votre blanquette ?” ! ;)


Parfois oubliés, des produits comme les asperges ou les artichauts accompagnés d’une bonne mayonnaise maison et d’un verre de Muscadet sont excellents pour débuter un repas en beauté !

 

Les couleurs du vin blanc

Le vin c’est une histoire d’arômes et de couleur. On utilise le terme “robe” pour parler de l’aspect visuel du vin. Avec un mot pareil, impossible de ne pas rêver. Utiliser le mot robe donne vie au vin, on l’habille et on reconnaît l’une de ses grandes qualités, son esthétisme à tomber par terre. 

Qui n’a pas craqué devant une beau verre de vin blanc ?


À la dégustation, on sert le vin dans le verre puis on le fait tournoyer pour observer sa robe et le sentir. Les larmes (ou les jambes) du vin se dessinent alors sur les bords du verre créant alors une véritable œuvre d’art. 


La couleur du vin blanc se décline du jaune vert au roux. Plus le vin est jeune, plus sa couleur est claire, pâle avec des reflets verts. Lorsqu’il prend en maturité, sa coloration évolue vers des tons plus dorés, voire orangés. 




En savoir plus...

Le vin rosé

Les vins de fêtes

Le vin rouge

Fermer (esc)
Popup

Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Recherche
Nos engagements
Panier
Votre panier est vide.
Boutique