What is a dry white wine?

Discover the Oé dry white wine range!

What is a dry white wine?

A dry white wine is a white wine that contains less than 2 grams per liter of residual sugar , i.e. less than 0.2%.

For sparkling dry wines , the sugar content is 17 to 35 grams per litre . It must therefore be made clear that we are talking here about still wines and not sparkling wines. This low amount of sugar in dry white wine decreases as the wine matures. So, for white wines for laying down , they more often have a very low sugar level . This is because of the fermentation of the wine which continues little by little during its maturation.


All this is done in such a way that the sugar content and other characteristics of the white wine are well respected. For the sugar content , it is determined by the harvest period and the sugar content of the must.


These two parameters are therefore considered very important and essential to control in the production of dry white wine.

The grape varieties to obtain a white wine

There are many grape varieties for making a good white wine . In France, we mainly recognize Chardonnay , Pinot blanc , Riesling , Viognier , Gewurztraminer or Sylvaner . In the world, there are still several other grape varieties intended for the production of white wine: Sultanine, Airen, Ugni blanc and Dattier de Beyrouth…

In the production of a dry white wine , the choice of grape varieties is important. This is due to the characters specific to each grape variety.

Chardonnay

Chardonnay is arguably the most widely used in the world to make white wine . It is very appreciated by the fact that it gives a very aromatic and fruity wine. This grape variety is mainly present in the Champagne and Burgundy regions of France. It is also found in the United States, Australia, Germany, Switzerland and Italy. Chardonnay is mainly used for the production of dry wines , but it can also give sweet wines .

BLOCK_PRODUCT:le-bugey

Pinot Blanc

Among the grape varieties for making white wine , there is also Pinot blanc . It can be found in France in the region of Burgundy and Alsace , in Italy, in Germany, in Austria, as well as in the United States. It is one of the most widespread grape varieties in the world, despite the fact that it gives quite small clusters. Pinot blanc is appreciated because it tolerates variable climates.

Sauvignon Blanc

Sauvignon blanc finds its best expression in the Loire Valley, mainly in the Sancerre appellations . Sauvignon Blanc has a natural acidity that goes perfectly with seafood. It is perfect with goat cheeses or with spicy cuisine from the south-east.

 

How is dry white wine made?

The harvest is done when the white grapes are ripe . This maturity defines the sugar content of the grapes .

If the harvest is carried out too early, the grapes are not ripe enough. Alcohol content and residual sugar content will be affected. This will result in drier than expected wines with low alcohol content.

If the harvest is done too late, we obtain overripe grapes with very high sugar content. This will make it impossible to make dry white wine , as the residual sugar content will therefore be higher. Thanks to the late harvest , we obtain a demi-sec or a sweet wine.

Destemming and crushing are well-known steps in winemaking just after the harvest. The grape berries are separated from the stalk before being pressed. For white wine, do not drag to avoid unwanted maceration .

Depending on the pressing parameters , dry white wines can acquire bitterness and a bouquet of aromas depending on the desired product. The addition of water and other additives during manufacturing also determine the sugar concentration of the finished product.

Settling is a step that allows the juice to be clarified at the end of pressing.

During fermentation , the stopping of fermentation caused by the addition of sulfur or cold also plays a big role in making a dry white. Indeed, it determines the alcoholic degree and the residual sugar content.

To obtain white wines for laying down, the winemaker can place it in vats to age it. This is called malolactic fermentation.

Oé offers a selection of dry white wines , all produced with respect for the environment. At Oé, we select organic wines for you because they are better for your health and for the planet . They contain little sulphites unlike conventional wines .


Since 2012, organic winemaking has appeared. Previously, only the mention “ from organic grapes ” appeared on our good bottles of organic dry white wines . From now on, the Label AB is displayed with pride, meaning that the whole production of this wine is organic. For biodynamic dry white wines and natural dry white wines, it is also a work of art that begins with vinification and ends with bottling. Drinking a good organic wine is worth it!

If you're interested, we wrote an article on vegan wine (spoiler alert, collage makes the difference!)

Food and dry white wine pairings

The advantage of white wine is that it is also easy to marry with an aperitif , a main course and a dessert . It's the perfect companion for your cellar, ready to be pulled out for any occasion.

We know its well-known associations, especially in the Entre-Deux-Mers , with mussels , oysters and shellfish , accompanied by a slice of butter and a slice of lemon, a real treat! White wine is also an ally of products from the land such as white meat . To delight your guests, you can serve them a good veal blanquette accompanied by classic white wines from Burgundy , Alsace or even a white Bordeaux . To bring madness, you can also serve it with a good Savoy wine .

For dessert, sweet white wines and natural sweet wines are often favored for their delicacy and roundness in the mouth. They go very well with fresh fruits such as pears or melon . If you are interested, we share our recipe for Pavlova with Pear , a real delight.

Dry white wines can also be enjoyed with dessert, light, fruity and fragrant, they go perfectly with strawberries. Serve a bottle of Pouilly Fumé with a scoop of strawberry ice cream and a square of dark chocolate, you'll be a hit!


Great white wines

When great minds meet, great wines too! To make great white wines, you need a lot of know-how, patience, love, beautiful vines and a well-kept cellar .

To produce great wines and good vintages , the work of the winegrowers begins with the harvest . Particular attention is paid to the vines and the best grapes are selected. During the late harvest, the winemaker harvests overripe grapes , that is to say grapes with noble rot ( botrytis cinerea ), which develop unique aromas. He can then proudly display the words " Selection of Noble Grains " on his wine . Be careful though, the line between grapes of excellence and past grapes is very fine. Fortunately, the winegrowers have mastered their subject at their fingertips!

Discover our article on Marie-Paule, Oé winemaker from Languedoc-Roussillon

Each grape variety has its particularity, its personal touch which makes it so unique and sought after. Our beautiful wine regions of France have their signature grape varieties like Pinot Noir and Chardonnay in Burgundy , or Cabernet Franc and Semillon in Bordeaux .

The terroir also plays a key role. The land on which the vine grows forges its character. The limestone soils give minerality to the white wines, a touch of finesse much appreciated in the great white wines.

You are probably familiar with Châteauneuf-du-Pape , a great wine from the Rhône Valley . We love it so much that at we decided to offer it to you so that you too can enjoy a good organic and vegan Châteauneuf-du-Pape . More discreet, Châteauneuf-du-Pape is also produced in white wine and it is a marvel of nature!

BLOCK_PRODUCT:the-chateauneuf-du-pape

Burgundy holds the prize for the most expensive red wine in the world with a bottle of Romanée Conti sold at auction for more than 480,000 euros. White Burgundy wines are also highly sought after, whether for small pleasures with a good Chablis or more exclusive pleasures with a nice bottle of Montrachet . When you love you don't count, especially for a nice bottle of white wine!

The legendary Coulée de Serrant estate is located in the Loire Valley. Biodynamic since 1981, this wine produced from the Chenin grape variety is the pride of its region, the Loire Valley .

The aromatic notes and colors of white wine

White wine is a taste and visual pleasure. At the tasting , we take the time to observe the beautiful color of the wine, to make it dance in the glass before smelling the aromatic perfumes which escape on the surface. We sometimes like to watch it so much that we forget to drink it. Yes, it's quite mesmerizing to watch your white wine swirl around in the glass. Bursts of light twinkle like city streetlights late at night, and the brilliance of this wine's color is an invitation to contemplation.

From dry white wine to sweet white wine , the color palette of white wines is very wide. Jura straw wine and yellow wine are aptly named, and their yellow color is known all over the world. Dry, less sweet wines tend to have lighter, paler tones. Some wines even have very beautiful green reflections !


Explore the vineyards with Oé wines and discover delicious committed organic wines

Qu'est-ce qu'un vin blanc sec ?

Découvrir la gamme de vin blanc secs Oé !

Un vin blanc sec, c'est quoi ?

Un vin blanc sec est un vin blanc qui contient moins de 2 grammes par litre de sucre résiduel soit moins de 0,2%.

 

Pour les vins secs effervescents, la teneur en sucre est de 17 à 35 grammes par litre. Il faut donc bien préciser que l’on parle ici de vins tranquilles et non d’effervescents. Cette faible quantité de sucre du vin blanc sec diminue au fur et à mesure que le vin est en maturation. Donc, pour des vins blancs de garde, ils ont plus souvent un taux de sucre très bas. Ceci est à cause de la fermentation du vin qui continue petit à petit pendant sa maturation.


Tout cela est réalisé de manière à ce que la teneur en sucre et les autres caractéristiques du vin blanc soient bien respectées. Pour la teneur en sucre, elle est déterminée par la période de vendange et la teneur en sucre du moût.


Ces deux paramètres sont donc considérés comme très importants et indispensables à maîtriser dans la fabrication de vin blanc sec.

 

Les cépages pour obtenir un vin blanc

Les cépages pour la réalisation d’un bon vin blanc sont nombreux. En France, on reconnait principalement le Chardonnay, le Pinot blanc, le Riesling, le Viognier, le Gewurztraminer ou encore le Sylvaner. Dans le monde, il y a encore plusieurs autres cépages destinés à la fabrication du vin blanc : la Sultanine, l’Airen, l’Ugni blanc et le Dattier de Beyrouth…

Dans la production d’un vin blanc sec, le choix des cépages est important. Cela est dû aux caractères propres à chaque cépage.

 

Le Chardonnay

Le Chardonnay est sans doute le plus utilisé dans le monde pour faire du vin blanc. Il est très apprécié par le fait qu’il donne un vin très aromatique et fruité. Ce cépage est principalement présent dans les régions Champagne et Bourgogne en France. On le trouve également aux États-Unis, en Australie, en Allemagne, en Suisse et en Italie. Le Chardonnay est principalement utilisé pour la production de vins secs, mais il peut tout aussi donner des vins liquoreux

Le Bugey bio
Le Bugey

12,00 €


 

Le Pinot blanc

Parmi les cépages pour faire du vin blanc, il y a également le Pinot blanc. On peut le retrouver en France dans la région de Bourgogne et d’Alsace, en Italie, en Allemagne, en Autriche, ainsi qu’aux États-Unis. C’est l’un des cépages les plus répandus au monde, malgré le fait qu’il donne des grappes assez petites. Le Pinot blanc est apprécié, car il tolère des climats variables.

 

Le Sauvignon blanc

Le Sauvignon blanc trouve sa meilleure expression dans la Vallée de la Loire principalement dans les appellations de Sancerre. Le Sauvignon blanc possède une acidité naturelle qui s'accorde parfaitement avec des fruits de mer. Il est parfait avec des fromages de chèvre ou avec une cuisine épicée du sud-est.

 

Comment fabrique-t-on du vin blanc sec ?

Les vendanges se font pendant la maturité des raisins blancs. Cette maturité définit la teneur en sucre des raisins.

Si la vendange est réalisée trop tôt, on a des raisins pas assez mûrs. Le degré alcoolique et la teneur en sucre résiduelle seront affectés. Cela donnera des vins plus secs que prévu avec un faible taux d’alcool.

Si la vendange est faite trop tard, on obtient des raisins en surmaturation avec des teneurs très élevées en sucre. Cela rendra impossible l’élaboration de vin blanc sec, car la teneur en sucre résiduelle sera donc plus élevée. Grâce aux vendanges tardives, on obtient un demi-sec ou un vin moelleux. 

L'égrappage et le foulage sont des étapes très connues dans la vinification juste après les vendanges. Les baies de raisins sont séparées de la rafle avant d’être pressurées. Pour le vin blanc, il ne faut pas traîner pour éviter une macération non souhaitée.

Selon les paramètres de pressurage, les vins blancs secs peuvent acquérir de l’amertume et un bouquet d’arômes selon le produit voulu. L’addition d’eau et d’autres additifs pendant la fabrication déterminent également la concentration en sucre du produit fini.

Le débourbage est une étape qui permet de clarifier le jus à la sortie du pressurage.  

Pendant la fermentation, l’arrêt de la fermentation provoqué par l’addition de soufre ou de froid joue également un grand rôle dans la fabrication d’un blanc sec. En effet, il détermine le degré alcoolique et la teneur en sucre résiduelle.

Pour obtenir des vins blancs de garde, le vigneron peut le placer dans des cuves pour le faire vieillir. On parle alors de fermentation malolactique.

Oé vous propose une sélection de vins blanc sec, tous produits dans le respect de l'environnement. Chez Oé, on sélectionne pour vous des vins bio car ils sont meilleurs pour votre santé et pour la planète. Ils contiennent peu de sulfites contrairement aux vins conventionnels.


Depuis 2012, la vinification biologique fait son apparition. Auparavant, seule la mention “issu de raisins biologiques” apparaissait sur nos bonnes bouteilles de vins blancs secs biologiques. Désormais, le Label AB est affiché avec fierté, signifiant que c’est l’ensemble de la production de ce vin qui est biologique. Pour les vins blancs secs biodynamiques et les vins blancs secs nature, c’est aussi un travail d'orfèvre qui débute à la vinification et se termine à la mise en bouteille. Boire un bon vin bio, ça se mérite !

Si ça vous intéresse, on a écrit un article sur le vin vegan (spoiler alerte, le collage fait la différence !)

 

Les accords mets et vins blancs secs

L’avantage du vin blanc c’est qu’il est aussi facile à marier à l’apéro, au plat et au dessert. C’est le compagnon idéal de votre cave, prêt à être sorti pour toute occasion.

On connaît ses associations très connues, notamment dans l’entre-deux-mers, avec les moules, les huîtres et les crustacés, accompagnés d’une tartine de beurre et d’une tranche de citron, un vrai régal ! Le vin blanc est aussi un allier des produits de la terre comme la viande blanche. Pour régaler vos invités, vous pouvez leur servir une bonne blanquette de veau accompagnée des classiques vins blancs de bourgogne, d’Alsace ou encore un bordeaux blanc. Pour apporter de la folie, vous pouvez également la servir avec un bon vin de Savoie.

Au dessert, on favorise souvent les vins blancs moelleux et les vins doux naturels pour leur gourmandise et leur rondeur en bouche. Ils s’associent très bien avec des fruits frais comme la poire ou le melon. Si ça vous intéresse, on vous partage notre recette de la Pavlova aux Poires, un vrai délice. 

Les vins blancs secs peuvent aussi se déguster au dessert, légers, fruités et parfumés, ils se marient parfaitement avec la fraise. Servez une bouteille de Pouilly Fumé accompagné d’une boule de glace à la fraise et un carreau de chocolat noir, vous ferrez un carton plein !


Les grands vins blancs

Quand les grands esprits se rencontrent, les grands vins aussi ! Pour faire de grands vins blancs, il faut beaucoup de savoir-faire, de la patience, de l’amour, des belles vignes et un chai bien entretenu. 

Pour produire de grands vins et de bons millésimes, le travail des vignerons commence dès les vendanges. Une attention particulière est apportée aux vignes et on sélectionne les meilleurs raisins. Lors des vendanges tardives, le vigneron récolte des raisins en surmaturation, c'est-à-dire des raisins avec une pourriture noble (botrytis cinerea), qui développent des arômes uniques. Il pourra ensuite afficher fièrement sur son vin la mention "Sélection de grains nobles”. Attention tout de même, la limite entre raisin d’excellence et raisin passé est très fine. Heureusement, les vignerons maîtrisent leur sujet sur le bout des doigts !

Découvrez notre article sur Marie-Paule, vigneronne Oé du Languedoc-Roussillon

Chaque cépage a sa particularité, sa touche personnelle qui le rend si unique et recherché. Nos belles régions viticoles de France ont leurs cépages signatures comme le Pinot noir et le Chardonnay en Bourgogne, ou le Cabernet Franc et le Semillon à Bordeaux

Le terroir joue aussi un rôle primordial. La terre sur laquelle grandit la vigne lui forge son caractère. Les sols calcaires donnent de la minéralité aux vins blancs, une touche de finesse très appréciée dans les grands vins blancs.

Vous connaissez sans doute le Châteauneuf-du-Pape, un grand vin de la Vallée du Rhône. On l’aime tellement que chez on a décidé de vous le proposer pour que vous puissiez vous aussi vous régaler avec un bon Châteauneuf-du-Pape bio et vegan. Plus discret, le Châteauneuf-du-Pape est aussi produit en vin blanc et c’est une merveille de la nature !

La Bourgogne détient la palme du vin rouge le plus cher du monde avec une bouteille de Romanée Conti vendue aux enchères à plus de 480 000 euros. Les vins blancs de Bourgogne sont aussi très recherchés, que ce soit pour des petits plaisirs avec un bon Chablis ou des plaisirs plus exclusifs avec une belle bouteille de Montrachet. Quand on aime on ne compte, surtout pour une belle bouteille de vin blanc !

Le mythique domaine de la Coulée de Serrant se trouve dans la vallée de la Loire. En biodynamie depuis 1981, ce vin produit à partir du cépage Chenin fait la fierté de sa région, le Val de Loire

 

Les notes aromatiques et les couleurs du vin blanc

Le vin blanc est un plaisir gustatif et visuel. À la dégustation, on prend le temps d’observer la belle robe du vin, de le faire danser dans le verre avant de sentir les parfums aromatiques qui s’échappent à la surface. On aime parfois tellement le regarder qu’on en oublie de le boire. Eh oui, c’est assez hypnotisant de regarder son vin blanc tournoyer dans le verre. Les éclats de lumière scintillent comme les lampadaires de la ville tard le soir, et la brillance de la robe de ce vin est une invitation à la contemplation. 

Du vin blanc sec au vin blanc moelleux, la palette de couleur des vins blancs est très large. Le vin de paille et le vin jaune du Jura portent bien leur nom, et leur robe jaune est connue partout dans le monde. Les vins secs, moins sucrés, ont tendance à avoir des tons plus clairs, plus pâles. Certains vins ont même de très beaux reflets verts !


Explorez les vignobles avec les vins Oé et découvrez de délicieux vins bio engagés

Fermer (esc)
Popup

Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Recherche
Nos engagements
Panier
Votre panier est vide.
Boutique