Everything you need to know about rosé wine

See also other wine colors

 

Discover rosé wine

If you are looking for a wine to offer as an aperitif with your friends, fruity rosé wine is an ideal choice . The excellent news is that its price is within everyone's reach. Rosé wine is, in fact, considered the king wine intended to accompany fresh meals. From bleeding rosé to pressing rosé, including maceration rosé , its vinification process is both particular and demanding.

So why do we care so much about it? What is it, how do you get it, what are its grape varieties?

 

Rosé wine: for the record

You will agree, it is considered the oldest of wines. Provence is the first region where the production of rosé wine was born . The culture of the vine developed there, many centuries ago. It was around the 3rd millennium BC that the production of grapes developed. Yes, the good rosé wine of Provence has lived to spare!

The first vines were established in the region of Provence by the Greeks who founded Marseille . The wine was light in color at the time .

Le Méditerranée

9,90 €

Merlot • Syrah • Caladoc

After the crushing of the grapes, the juice obtained was fermented. The mode of maceration was done in the respect of the tradition. Indeed, the must had to be separated from the juice during fermentation.

From the rise of the Roman Empire, the progress of viticulture was born throughout Gaul. The church sees itself in full use of the clear wine which is, within the framework of religious ceremonies, called claret. Increasingly, its production and marketing are growing. Clear wine is thus defined as a healthy and fresh wine.

For consumers looking for a convivial, spontaneity and simplicity wine, it is already the best ally.

Discover the delicious organic rosé wines!

 

Making rosé wine: why is it pink?

Basically, the process of making rosé wine is the same as that of red wine . In reality, the more the must is macerated in contact with the skins, the more the wine obtains an intense color . Therefore, by separating the must from the wine, the coloring is less pronounced. Yes, it is the pigments contained in the skin of black grapes that make rosé wines colorful .

 

And if we were talking about the vinification of rosé wine!

There are 3 of them, namely maceration rosé, pressing rosé and saignée rosé. We tell you more right here!

Maceration rosé

This type of rosé is made by harvesting black grapes . Contrary to popular belief, maceration rosé cannot be made with black grapes or white grapes. But in vats, the maceration must imperatively be short. This can last 12 hours, 24 hours or even 32 hours and this in order to vary the color.

The exercise aims to separate the berries from the skin, pulp, seeds and grape juice . During vatting, the pigments ( anthocyanins ) in the grapes permeate the juice and tint to provide a rosy color.

The must is then pressed and separated from the solid parts. It is here that the fermentation will begin, which will take place at temperatures between 18 and 20°C; thus to preserve the aroma content.

Pressing rosé

This is the white vinification of red grapes. It is strongly recommended to press the grapes with the skin on, since salmon rosé is the desired color. It is a lighter rosé than the maceration rosé . This vinification consists of pressing the grapes directly after the harvest. After this, the juice is in vats and subsequently fermented.

Bleeding rosé

Made like maceration rosé, saignée rosé wine is obtained from red grapes . The maceration of red grapes as part of its production does not last long in vats. After half a day, the juice in the vat takes on a pinkish color and the vat is then bled. This expression “we bleed the vat” means that part of the must obtained is transferred to a different barrel where the wine will be fermented. The rest of the must will therefore be used to make red wine.

Attention ! If the maceration lasts too long, you risk finding yourself faced with a red wine. If the pressing rosé is made without skin, the saignée rosé is made with the skins. The purpose of this vinification is to obtain a very accentuated rosé wine . After fermentation, we remove from the vat, the rosé wine has then decanted; this in order to keep the sweetness and finesse of the aromas.

Some grape varieties of rosé wine

Several grape varieties are used today for the production of rosé wines . To make a good rosé wine, white grape varieties are not popular, on the other hand many black grape varieties are knocking on the door to produce good natural rosé wines , biodynamic rosé wines , organic rosé wine . Cinsault , Syrah , Grenache , Pinot Noir , Gamay , among others, are the essential grape varieties for the production of rosé wines. They are split into two large groups: Southeast and Northeast. There are then few rosé wines from Provence in the South West.

The grape varieties of the South-East

  • The Cinsault

Cinsault is a grape variety grown in France. Known as Black Malvoisie, this variety is very fertile and perfectly resistant to drought.

Once it is cultivated in fertile land, production is increased and its wines are of very good quality . The wines made from this grape variety are fine, generous and even vigorous.

  • Syrah

Syrah is more present in the Côtes du Rhône, precisely in the northern part of the region. This variety leans on the production of rosé wines .

Discover our article on the Loire Valley

Several winegrowers, in order to produce the best wines, combine it with Roussanne and Marsanne . This variety gives the wine a structured tone. Its aromas of black fruits and spices give it a balanced touch.



Le Corbières

10,90 €

Grenache Noir • Syrah • Cinsault

  • The Mourvèdre

This variety develops very well in warm lands. With aromatic flavors of ripe fruit, violets and spices, this offers wines with a structured character.

  • The Carignan

Low-yielding hillsides are ideal for Carignan. It offers structured and intense wines, thus being characterized by aromas of spices.

The grape varieties of the North-East

  • Pinot Noir

It is the best known grape variety in the northern part of the country. It is cultivated both in Alsace and in Lorraine.

The Burgundy region is one of the flagship terroirs for the production of pinot noir . It is also found in the Jura, Touraine, Auvergne… Cultivated in cold regions, this variety will have the possibility of offering quality wines . Wines made from rosé grape varieties with a striking aromatic complexity.

  • Gamay

Gamay has existed for more than 4 centuries. It provides the best of itself in siliceous and granite soils, producing very good vintages . This variety is intended for the production of red wine and rosé wine. In terms of rosé wine, it offers a fruity, fresh, gourmet tone on the palate.

If you want to choose a rosé wine as an aperitif, treat yourself to our range of organic Oé wines ! The wines are carefully selected for their unbeatable value for money. If you are looking for a good rosé wine , you will find what you are looking for: the organic rosés from the Oé selection are delicious.

Discover our article on vegan wines

 

The notes of rosé wine

Rosé wine is often a sign of summer, sun and an aperitif with friends by the pool. Approaching your nose above the glass, eyes closed, you stroll among the fields of white flowers , the bouquets of roses , the rows of lavender and the hectares of vines as far as the eye can see. The floral notes of this sweet beverage are an invitation to travel that you cannot refuse.

We like to taste a good chilled rosé wine, some even add ice cubes to the glass to make the famous swimming pool rosé. Everyone has their own technique. In any case, the aromas of rosé bring us all together, its notes of exotic fruits and citrus fruits are all reasons to appreciate this wine as an aperitif, accompanied by a good sweet melon.


The color palette of rosé wine

Soft mixture of white and red, pink is a color that makes people talk about it. However, rosé wine is unique and does not come from a blend of red wines and white wines , its shorter maturation than that of red wine gives it its wonderful color. Then, its pellicular maceration and its malolactic fermentation give it a unique taste.

Its pink dress is authentic, unique and multiple at the same time. There are several shades of pink (not to be confused with shades of gray), from very pale pink to peach pink to grapefruit pink . When the sun is at its peak and it settles on the filled glass and bottle of rosé, the light reflects and the shadows dance to give us a wonderful visual spectacle.

 

The pigments responsible for the color of wines are called anthocyanins . We tell you a little more about it in this article .

 

Rosé food and wine pairings

Let's talk a little about taste pleasure and culinary associations. Wine is like dancing, alone is good, accompanied is even better! To accompany your good Côtes de Provence or Côtes de Gascogne , what could be better than a good Provençal cuisine based on white meats and a tian with summer vegetables. Rosés also go wonderfully well with salads to keep a nice freshness in the mouth. As the king of gastronomy , you can add fruit to the menu and bring a nice sweet/salty balance to echo these good fruity wines , light on the palate and with a nice roundness .

We wrote an article on our wine tasting and storage tips if you're interested, so you can become real sommeliers at home!

 

2021 trends & production in the world of rosé wines

If, like us, you are unconditional fans of rosé and the good atmosphere that accompanies it, the South of France is your paradise. From Languedoc-Roussillon, neighbor of the Pyrenees to Nice and its Southern Alps , it rains rosé wine in the absence of Lille rain, and it is not to displease us. IGP, AOC, AOP, there are thousands of appellations produced all over the Mediterranean coast of our very dear France.

This wine-growing region is turning year after year towards organic viticulture and winemaking that is more respectful of the environment, and it works! The paradisiacal climate of this wine-growing region allows the vines to flourish in a hot and dry climate , nourished by natural solutions in companionship with typical vegetation of the region. Yes, it is in the middle of lavender and olive trees, on limestone soils covered with maquis that the Provençal vine flourishes.

We can shout it loud and clear, with pride please, France is the first producer of rosé wine in the world with more than 6.4 million hectoliters far ahead of our runner-up the United States followed then by Spain. We are also told in our ears that we are the biggest consumers of rosé wine, and there, we beat everyone to the punch. Like what, French has taste, it's not a myth!

Discover the delicious Oé organic rosé wines!

Read more...

The White wine

Festive wines

The Red wine

Tout savoir sur le vin rosé

Voir aussi les autres couleurs des vins

 

Découvrir le vin rosé

Si vous cherchez un vin à proposer en apéritif avec vos amis, le vin rosé fruité est un choix idéal. L’excellente nouvelle est que son prix est à la portée de tous. Le vin rosé est, en réalité, considéré comme le vin roi destiné à accompagner les repas frais. Du rosé de saignée au rosé de pressurage en passant par le rosé de macération, son procédé de vinification est à la fois particulier et exigeant.

Alors, pourquoi y accordons-nous tant d’intérêt ? Qu’est-ce que c’est, comment l’obtient-on, quels sont ses cépages ?

 

Vin rosé : pour la petite histoire

Vous en conviendrez, il est considéré comme le plus ancien des vins. La Provence est la première région où est née la production du vin rosé. La culture de la vigne s’y est développée, il y a de nombreux siècles. C’est vers le 3e millénaire avant J.C que se développe la production des raisins. Eh oui, le bon vin rosé de Provence a du vécu à revendre !

Les premières vignes se sont implantées dans la région de Provence par les grecs qui ont fondé Marseille. Le vin était de couleur claire à époque.

Après le foulage des raisins, le jus obtenu était mis en fermentation. Le mode de macération se faisait dans le respect de la tradition. Effectivement, le moût devait être séparé du jus lors de la fermentation.

Dès l’essor de l’empire romain, le progrès de la viticulture voit le jour dans toute la Gaule. L’église se voit en plein usage du vin clair qui est, dans le cadre de cérémonies religieuses, appelé clairet. De plus en plus, sa production et sa commercialisation sont grandissantes. Le vin clair se définit ainsi comme un vin sain et frais.

Pour les consommateurs qui recherchent un vin convivialité, spontanéité et simplicité, c'est d’ores et déjà le meilleur allié.

Découvrir les délicieux vins bio rosés !

 

Fabrication du vin rosé : pourquoi est-il rose ?

De manière basique, le procédé de fabrication du vin rosé est pareil que celui du vin rouge. En réalité, plus le moût est macéré en contact de la peau, plus le vin obtient une coloration intense. Dès lors, en séparant le moût du vin, la coloration est moins prononcée. Eh oui, ce sont les pigments que contient la peau des raisins noirs qui rendent les vins rosés colorés.

 

Et si on parlait de la vinification du vin rosé !

Il en existe 3, à savoir le rosé de macération, le rosé de pressurage et le rosé de saignée. On vous en dit plus juste ici !

Le rosé de macération

Ce type de rosé se réalise par la vendange des raisins noirs. Contrairement aux idées reçues, on ne saurait faire le rosé de macération avec des raisins noirs ou des raisins blancs. Mais en cuve, la macération doit impérativement être courte. Celle-ci peut durer 12 heures, 24 heures voire 32 heures et ceci en vue de varier la couleur.

L’exercice vise à séparer les baies de la peau, la pulpe, les pépins et le jus de raisin. Au cours de la cuvaison, les pigments (anthocyanes) contenus dans les raisins imprègnent le jus et la teinte en vue de fournir une couleur rosée.

Le moût, par la suite, est pressé et séparé des parties solides. C’est ici que commencera la fermentation qui se fera dans des températures comprises entre 18 et 20°C ; ainsi pour conserver la teneur en arômes.

Le rosé de pressurage

Il s’agit de la vinification en blanc des raisins rouges. Il est vivement conseillé de presser les raisins avec la peau, puisque le rosé de saumon est la couleur recherchée. C’est un rosé plus clair que le rosé de macération. Cette vinification consiste à pressurer directement les raisins après la vendange. Après ceci, le jus est en cuve et fermenté par la suite.

Le rosé de saignée

Fabriqué comme le rosé de macération, le vin rosé de saignée est obtenu à base des raisins rouges. La macération des raisins rouges dans le cadre de sa fabrication ne dure pas longtemps en cuve. Après une demi-journée, le jus contenu dans la cuve prend la teinte rosée et on saigne la cuve par la suite. Cette expression « on saigne la cuve » veut dire qu’une partie du moût obtenu est transféré dans un fût différent où le vin sera fermenté. Le reste de moût sera donc destiné à la fabrication du vin rouge.

Attention ! Si la macération dure trop, vous risquez de vous retrouver face à un vin rouge. Si le rosé de pressurage se fait sans peau, le rosé de saignée s'élabore avec les peaux. Le but de cette vinification est d’obtenir un vin rosé très accentué. Après la fermentation, on retire de la cuve, le vin rosé a alors décanté ; ceci en vue de garder la douceur et la finesse des arômes.

Quelques cépages du vin rosé

Plusieurs cépages sont utilisés aujourd’hui pour la fabrication des vins rosés. Pour faire un bon vin rosé, les cépages blancs n’ont pas la côte, par contre beaucoup de cépages noirs toquent à la porte pour produire des bons vins rosés nature, vins rosés biodynamiques, vin rosé biologique. Le Cinsault, la Syrah, le Grenache, le Pinot noir, le Gamay, sont entre autres, les cépages incontournables pour la fabrication des vins rosés. Ils sont scindés en deux grands groupes : Sud-est et Nord-Est. Il y a alors peu de vins rosés de Provence dans le sud ouest.

Les cépages du Sud-Est

  • Le Cinsault

Le cinsault est un cépage cultivé en France. Connu sous le nom de Black Malvoisie, ce cépage est très fertile et résiste parfaitement à la sécheresse.

Une fois qu’il est cultivé en des terres fertiles, la production est accrue et ses vins sont de très bonne qualité. Les vins issus de ce cépage sont fins, généreux voire vigoureux.

  • La Syrah

La Syrah est plus présente dans les Côtes du Rhône, précisément dans la partie septentrionale de la région. Ce cépage se penche sur la production des vins rosés.

Découvrez notre article sur la Vallée de la Loire

Plusieurs vignerons, en vue de produire les meilleurs vins, l’associent à la Roussanne et la Marsanne. Ce cépage apporte au vin un ton structuré. Ses arômes de fruits noirs et d’épices lui procurent une touche équilibrée.



  • Le Mourvèdre

Ce cépage évolue très bien dans les terres chaudes. Avec des goûts aromatiques aux fruits mûrs, de violette et d'épices, celui-ci offre des vins à caractère structuré.

  • Le Carignan

Les coteaux à faible rendement conviennent parfaitement au Carignan. Il offre les vins structurés et intenses, se caractérisant ainsi par les arômes d’épices.

Les cépages du Nord-est

  • Le Pinot Noir

C’est le cépage le plus connu dans la partie septentrionale du pays. Il se cultive tant en Alsace qu’en Lorraine.

La région de Bourgogne est l’un des terroirs phares de la production du pinot noir. On le trouve également dans le Jura, la Touraine, l’Auvergne… Cultivé dans les régions froides, ce cépage aura la possibilité d’offrir des vins de qualité. Les vins sortis de cépage des rosés dotés d’une complexité aromatique marquante.

  • Le Gamay

Le Gamay existe depuis plus de 4 siècles. Il procure le meilleur de lui-même dans les sols siliceux et granitiques en produisant de très bons millésimes. Ce cépage est destiné à la production du vin rouge et du vin rosé. En matière de vin rosé, il offre en bouche un ton fruité, frais, gourmand.

Si vous souhaitez choisir un vin rosé en apéritif, faites vous plaisir avec notre gamme de vins bios Oé ! Les vins sont attentivement sélectionnés pour leur rapport qualité prix inégalable. Si vous recherchez un bon vin rosé, vous y trouverez votre bonheur : les rosés bio de la sélection Oé sont délicieux.

Découvrez notre article sur les vins vegan

 

Les notes du vin rosé

Le vin rosé est souvent signe d’été, de soleil et d'apéritif entre amis au bord de la piscine. En approchant son nez au-dessus du verre, les yeux fermés, on se balade parmi les champs de fleurs blanches, les bouquets de roses, les rangées de lavandes et les hectares de vignes à perte de vue. Les notes florales de ce doux breuvage sont une invitation au voyage qu’on ne peut refuser. 

On aime déguster un bon vin rosé bien frais, certains ajoutent même des glaçons dans le verre pour faire le fameux rosé piscine. À chacun sa technique. En tous cas, les arômes du rosé nous rassemblent tous, ses notes de fruits exotiques et d’agrumes sont autant de raisons pour apprécier ce vin à l’apéritif, accompagné d’un bon melon sucré.


La palette de couleur du vin rosé

Doux mélange du blanc et du rouge, le rose est une couleur qui fait parler d’elle. Le vin rosé pourtant est unique est n’est pas issu d’un assemblage de vins rouges et de vins blancs, sa maturation plus courte que celle du vin rouge lui donne sa merveilleuse robe. Ensuite, sa macération pelliculaire et sa fermentation malolactique lui donnent un goût unique.

Sa robe rose est authentique, unique et multiple à la fois. Il existe plusieurs nuances de rose (à ne pas confondre avec les nuances de gris), du rose très pâle au rose pêche en passant par le rose pamplemousse. Lorsque le soleil est à son apogée et qu’il se pose sur le verre et la bouteille de rosé remplis, la lumière se reflète et les ombres dansent pour nous offrir un merveilleux spectacle visuel.

 

Les pigments responsables de la couleur des vins se nomment les anthocyanes. On vous en parle un peu plus dans cet article.

 

Les accords mets et vins du rosé

Et si nous parlions un peu plaisir gustatif et associations culinaires. Le vin c’est comme la danse, tout seul c’est bien, accompagné c’est encore mieux ! Pour accompagner votre bon Côtes de Provence ou Côtes de Gascogne, quoi de mieux qu’une bonne cuisine provençale à base de viandes blanches et d’un tian aux légumes d’été. Les rosés se marient aussi merveilleusement bien avec les salades pour conserver une belle fraîcheur en bouche. En tant que roi de la gastronomie, vous pouvez ajouter des fruits au menu et amener un bel équilibre sucré/salé pour faire échos à ces bons vins fruités, légers en bouche et avec une belle rondeur.

On a écrit un article sur nos conseils de dégustation et de conservation des vins si ça vous intéresse, comme ça, vous deviendrez de vrais sommeliers à la maison !

 

Les tendances 2021 & la production dans le monde de vins rosés

Si, comme nous, vous êtes des fans inconditionnels du rosé et de la bonne ambiance qui l’accompagne, le Sud de la France est votre paradis. Du Languedoc-Roussillon, voisin des Pyrénées jusqu’à Nice et ses Alpes du Sud, il pleut du vin rosé à défaut de la pluie lilloise, et ce n’est pas pour nous déplaire. IGP, AOC, AOP, il existe des milliers d’appellations produites sur toute la côte méditerranéenne de notre très chère France.

Cette région viticole se tourne d’année en année vers une viticulture et une vinification biologique plus respectueuse de l’environnement, et ça marche ! Le climat paradisiaque de cette région viticole permet aux vignes de s’épanouir dans un climat chaud et sec, nourri par des solutions naturelles en compagnonnage avec une végétation typique de la région. Eh oui, c’est au milieu des lavandes et des oliviers, sur des sols calcaires recouverts de maquis que la vigne provençale s’épanouit.

Nous pouvons le crier haut et fort, avec fierté s’il vous plaît, la France est le premier producteur de vin rosé au monde avec plus de 6,4 millions d’hectolitres loin devant notre dauphin les États-Unis suivi ensuite par l’Espagne. On nous dit aussi à l’oreille que nous sommes les plus gros consommateurs de vin rosé, et là, on bat tout le monde à plat de couture. Comme quoi, le français a du goût, ce n’est pas un mythe !

Découvrir les délicieux vins bio rosés Oé !

En savoir plus...

Le vin blanc

Les vins de fêtes

Le vin rouge

Fermer (esc)
Popup

Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Recherche
Nos engagements
Panier
Votre panier est vide.
Boutique