The Oé team offers delivery from 6 bottles ordered!

Choosing an organic wine without sulfites for your health - Oé

How to select an organic wine without sulphites?

You have to understand that wines without sulfites do not exist. It is a commercial argument that producers use, but by this notion, they want to specify that during production, no sulphites have been added : we are then talking about wines without added sulphites. Nevertheless the mention "contains sulphites" is necessary on the label of the bottle. When grapes are fermented, they naturally produce sulfur which serves as an antiseptic and antioxidant. As a reminder, antioxidants are used to preserve wine .

Liquid error: product form must be given a product

from


In industrial wine, the quantity of sulfur is very important and the ingestion of this element can cause headaches or migraines. In other people, especially asthmatics, you may experience anaphylactic attacks and reactions. Sometimes, even at low doses, sulfite intolerances are felt and can cause undesirable allergic reactions , which is why you should be well informed about the wine you choose.

It is therefore advisable to turn to wines that contain a very small amount of sulphites . For these people, sweet wines and sweet wines are strongly discouraged , because the sulfur level is higher. If you want to drink a glass of wine with peace of mind, it would be better to opt for a bottle of organic wine in which there are only traces of residual sulphites . Of course, always pay attention to your wine consumption and never forget your moderation buddy for the aperitif!

Discover our fine organic Oé wines!

The roles of sulphate in wine production

The skin and the stalk of the grape naturally contain many essential elements of wine. Polyphenols , for example, are a family of chemical compounds that influence the color, taste and mouthfeel of wine. We find there the anthocyanins , the natural pigments of the grape, present on the skin which give the beautiful color of red wine , color of white wine and color of rosé wine .

Rosé wine

It should be understood that grapes, when fermented during aging, naturally produce sulphur . Manufacturers can afford to add a few extra grams of sulfur (also called sulfur dioxide, sulfurous acid or sulfur dioxide ) to the production to protect the wine from oxidation in contact with oxygen. In this case, sulfur plays a conservative role, but it also controls alcoholic fermentation by blocking the development and propagation of bacteria and certain yeasts. Sulfur also helps to stop or prevent malolactic fermentation . Sulfur can also be used in the disinfection of barrels, vats and materials used in production to kill fungus and mold. It also plays an important role in accelerating the decomposition of the grape and in the release of tannins and aromas.

A higher dose of sulphites in conventional wines

The addition of sulfur in the vinification of red wines, white wines and rosé wines is completely legal. Conventional winegrowers using almost all stages of production: at harvest, reception of the harvest, pressing, vatting, mutage for sweet wines, at the end of alcoholic and malolactic fermentation, during maturing, conservation and storage of wine and before packaging. Those few milligrams added at each step add up to about 160 mg per liter in a typical dry red wine . In sweet white wines, up to 400 mg per liter of sulfur are found . We cannot then say that conventional wines are wines without sulfites . When the wines exceed 160 mg/l of sulphur, it will already be necessary to be suspicious. Do not rely on the indications "sulphur-free" and "sulfite-free". Take the time to read the components along with their dose.

The labeling of wine without sulphites or sulphur-free

On the label of some wine bottles, the elements "sulfite-free" or "sulphur-free" are mentioned . We would like to remind you that this is a wine without added sulfur or sulphites and this detail is very important. In the production of these wines, “natural” sulphites are added . During the fermentation of the grape, yeasts develop and there is also a formation of more or less volatile sulfur compounds. In these so-called “sulfite-free” or “sulphur-free” wines, the dose of natural sulfur is very low.

To find out why wine gives you a headache, discover this article

Why does organic wine contain less sulphite?

As part of a conventional cultivation of vines , fertilizers, herbicides and pesticides containing sulfur compounds are used. These will be felt in the wine. For organic farming, winegrowers are subject to specifications prohibiting the use of fertilizers, phytosanitary products and chemicals . To have good quality grapes, they strengthen the vine's defences, which allows them to limit chemical treatments. Grapes from organic farming do not contain sulphites. If no chemicals are used during cultivation, the winemaker can use conventional winemaking methods for aging. This authorizes him to use sulphites, but to stay within the organic concept, he will only be entitled to a few products and only a limited quantity .

grape

Sulphite content in organic wines

To give you a precise idea of ​​the presence of sulphites in organic wines, we are going to provide you with some figures in this section.

In a good organic dry red wine , the sulphite content varies between 70 and 100 mg/l and in a conventional wine, the maximum doses can go up to 160mg/l. A good white wine and a good organic dry rosé wine should no longer contain 150 mg/l of sulphites, while in these same wines which are industrially produced, the sulfur can go up to 210mg/l. For sweet wines and conventional natural sweet wines, the sulphite content is around 200mg/l and this content is reduced to 80mg/l in organic productions . In sparkling wines, there is only 60 mg/l of sulfur and in conventional sparkling wines, there are up to 210 mg/l of sulphites. In a conventional soft and sweet wine, the sulphites content can go up to 400mg/l and in an organic production, this content is reduced to 150mg/l.

Other inputs are also very controlled in organic winemaking (same for organic viticulture ). Only indigenous yeasts are used and the inputs must be organic .

Biodynamic wine, low sulphites

We have already told you about the philosophy of biodynamics and if you missed the article, here it is!

In biodynamics, the earth, nature and the lunar/solar cycles are given pride of place. Manual harvesting, plant companionship, fertilization and soil protection with natural techniques ( horn dung, herbal teas, etc. ), in short, everything is there to make a good responsible wine. A friend of organic wines, biodynamic wine also contains a very low rate of sulphites. The demeter and biodyvin labels have very precise specifications and impose doses of sulphites even lower than those of organic wines. At Oé, the doses of sulphites present in our wines are moreover closer to those of biodynamic wines than organic wines .

SAINS wine: a drink without sulfites

You can also see in the description of certain wines the indication SAINS which is the abbreviation of " Without Any Intrant Nor Sulfites Added ". It is natural wines or natural wines that are most concerned. Do not confuse organic wine with natural wine .

For organic wine, it is possible to resort to the use of sulfur and a winemaking input. For a healthy natural wine , we use grapes from organic farming and in the vinification, we use no inputs and no sulphites. In these HEALTHY wines, we find only 30 mg/litre of sulphur.

To know the difference between organic wines, biodynamic wines and natural wines, it happens here

Conventional wines

The specifications of conventional wines leave a lot of room for the addition of sulphites. The step between a well done makeup and a clown's face is quite fine, and it's the same principle for wine! We quickly add the extra gram of sulphites which completely denatures the product. Organic, biodynamic and natural wines have a more respectful approach to wine for what it is and to approach wine with its qualities and its faults.

Sulfur works as an antioxidant and a stabilizer , nothing bad in itself but it must be handled with care. Regulars of natural wines without added sulphites recognize sulfur directly when its quantity reaches 20/30 grams per litre. For ordinary tasters, it is difficult to recognize the taste of sulfur simply because we are not used to feeling and differentiating this taste. Nevertheless, a conventional wine like it contains many more additives and transformers , can lose its true flavor. The impact on health is also important to consider .

Close (esc)
pop-up

Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Search
Our engagements
Shopping Cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now

Choisir un vin bio sans sulfites pour sa santé - Oé

Comment sélectionner un vin bio sans sulfites ?

Il faut comprendre que les vins sans sulfites n’existent pas. C’est un argument commercial qu’utilisent les producteurs, mais par cette notion, ils veulent préciser qu’à élaboration, aucun sulfite n’a été ajouté : on parle alors de vins sans sulfites ajoutés. Néanmoins la mention "contient des sulfites" est nécessaire sur l'étiquette de la bouteille. Lorsqu’on fait fermenter le raisin, il produit naturellement du soufre qui lui sert d’antiseptique et d’antioxydant. Pour rappel, les antioxydants servent à la conservation du vin.

Dans le vin industriel, la quantité de soufre est très importante et l’ingestion de cet élément peut provoquer des maux de tête ou des migraines. Chez d’autres personnes, notamment chez les asthmatiques, on peut assister à des crises et des réactions anaphylactiques. Parfois, même à faible dose, les intolérances au sulfites se font ressentir et peuvent provoquer des réactions allergiques indésirables, c’est pourquoi il faut bien s’informer sur le vin que l’on choisit.

Il est alors conseillé de se tourner vers les vins qui contiennent une très faible quantité de sulfites. Pour ces personnes, les vins moelleux et les liquoreux sont fortement déconseillés, car le taux de soufre est plus important. Si vous voulez boire un verre de vin en toute sérénité, il serait préférable d’opter pour une bouteille de vin bio dans laquelle on ne trouve que des traces de sulfites résiduels. Bien sûr faites toujours attention à votre consommation de vins et n’oubliez jamais votre copain modération pour l’apéro !

Découvrir nos bons vins bios Oé !

 

Les rôles du sulfate dans la production du vin

La peau et la rafle du raisin contiennent naturellement beaucoup d’éléments incontournables du vin. Les polyphénols par exemple, sont une famille de composés chimiques qui influent sur la couleur, le goût et la sensation en bouche du vin. On y retrouve les anthocyanes, les pigments naturels du raisin, présents sur la peau qui donnent la belle couleur du vin rouge, couleur du vin blanc et couleur du vin rosé.

vin rosé

Il faut comprendre que le raisin, lorsqu’il est fermenté à l’élevage, produit naturellement du soufre. Les industriels peuvent se permettre d’ajouter quelques grammes en plus de soufre (aussi appelé dioxyde de soufre, acide sulfureux ou anhydride sulfureux) à la production pour protéger le vin de l’oxydation au contact de l’oxygène. Dans ce cas, le soufre joue un rôle conservateur, mais il se charge également du contrôle de la fermentation alcoolique en bloquant le développement et la propagation des bactéries et de certaines levures. Le soufre permet aussi de stopper ou d’empêcher la fermentation malolactique. Le soufre peut également être utilisé dans la désinfection des barriques, des cuves et des matériaux utilisés à la production afin de tuer les champignons et les moisissures. Il joue également un rôle important dans l’accélération de la décomposition du raisin et dans la libération des tanins et des arômes. 

 

Une dose plus importante de sulfites dans les vins conventionnels

L’ajout du soufre dans la vinification des vins rouges, vins blancs et vins rosés est tout à fait légal. Les vignerons conventionnels en utilisant presque à toutes les étapes de la fabrication : à la vendange, à la réception de la vendange, au pressurage, à l’encuvage, au mutage pour les vins doux, au terme de la fermentation alcoolique et malolactique, lors de l’élevage, de la conservation et le stockage du vin et avant le conditionnement. Ces quelques milligrammes ajoutés à chaque étape reviennent à environ 160 mg par litre dans un vin rouge sec classique. Dans les vins blancs liquoreux, on trouve jusqu’à 400 mg par litre de soufre. On ne peut pas alors dire que les vins conventionnels sont des vins sans sulfites. Lorsque les vins dépassent les 160 mg/l de soufre, il faudra déjà être méfiant. Il ne faut pas non plus se fier aux indications « sans soufre » et « sans sulfites ». Prenez le temps de lire les composants avec leur dose.

 

L’étiquetage du vin sans sulfites ou sans soufre 

Sur l’étiquette de certaines bouteilles de vin, les éléments « sans sulfites » ou « sans soufre » sont mentionnés. Nous tenons à rappeler qu’il s’agit de vin sans soufre ou sans sulfites ajoutés et ce détail a toute son importance. À la fabrication de ces vins, on ajoute des sulfites « naturels ». Lors de la fermentation du raisin, des levures se développent et on constate aussi une formation de composés soufrés plus ou moins volatils. Dans ces vins dits « sans sulfites » ou « sans soufre », la dose en soufre naturel est très faible. 

Pour savoir pourquoi le vin donne mal à la tête, découvrez cet article

 

Pourquoi le vin bio contient-il moins de sulfite ?

Dans le cadre d’une culture conventionnelle des vignes, on utilise des engrais, des herbicides et des pesticides contenant des composés soufrés. Ceux-ci se feront ressentir dans le vin. Pour une agriculture bio, les vignerons sont soumis à un cahier des charges interdisant l’usage des engrais, des produits phytosanitaires et des produits chimiques. Pour avoir des raisins de bonne qualité, ils renforcent les défenses de la vigne, ce qui leur permet de limiter les traitements chimiques. Les raisins issus d’une agriculture biologique ne contiennent pas de sulfites. Si aucun produit chimique n’est utilisé pendant la culture, le vigneron peut utiliser les méthodes de vinification conventionnelles pour l’élevage. Ceci l’autorise à utiliser des sulfites, mais pour rester dans le concept bio, il n’aura droit qu’à quelques produits et qu’à une quantité limitée.

raisin

 

La teneur en sulfites dans les vins bio

Pour vous donner une idée précise de la présence de sulfites dans les vins bios, nous allons vous apporter dans cette partie quelques chiffres.

Dans un bon vin rouge sec biologique, la teneur en sulfites oscille entre 70 et 100 mg/l et dans un vin conventionnel, les doses maximales peuvent aller jusqu’à 160mg/l. Un bon vin blanc et un bon vin rosé sec bio ne doit contenir plus 120 mg/l de sulfites tandis que dans ces mêmes vins qui sont de fabrication industrielle, le soufre peut aller jusqu’à 210mg/l. Les vins liquoreux et les vins doux naturels conventionnels, la teneur en sulfite est aux alentours de 200mg/l et cette teneur est réduite à 80 mg/l dans les productions bio. Dans les vins mousseux, on ne retrouve que 60 mg/l de soufre et dans les vins mousseux conventionnels, il y a jusqu’à 210 mg/l de sulfites. Dans un moelleux et dans un liquoreux conventionnels, la teneur en sulfites peut aller jusqu’à 400mg/l et dans une production bio, cette teneur est réduite à 150mg/l.

Les autres intrants sont également très contrôlés dans la vinification biologique (de même pour la viticulture biologique). On utilise uniquement les levures indigènes et les intrants doivent être biologiques.

 

Le vin biodynamique, une faible taux de sulfites

On vous a déjà parlé de la philosophie de la biodynamie et si l’article vous a échappé, le voici !

En biodynamie, la terre, la nature et les cycles lunaires/solaires sont mis à l’honneur. Vendanges manuelles, compagnonnages des plantes, fertilisations et protections des sols avec des techniques naturelles (bouse de corne, tisanes de plantes…), bref tout y est pour fabriquer un bon vin responsable. Copain de vins bios, le vin biodynamique contient lui aussi un taux très faible de sulfites. Les labels demeter et biodyvin ont un cahier des charges bien précis et imposent des doses de sulfites encore inférieures à celles des vins bios. Chez Oé, les doses de sulfites présentes dans nos vins sont d’ailleurs plus proches de celles des vins biodynamiques que des vins bios

 

Le vin SAINS : une boisson sans sulfites

Vous pouvez également voir dans le descriptif de certains vins l’indication SAINS qui est l’abréviation de « Sans Aucun Intrant Ni Sulfite Ajoutés ». Ce sont les vins naturels ou vins nature qui sont plus concernés. Il ne faut pas confondre vin bio et vin naturel.

Pour le vin bio, il est possible d’avoir recours à l’utilisation du soufre et d’un intrant à la vinification. Pour un vin naturel SAINS, on utilise des raisins issus d’une agriculture biologique et à la vinification, on n’utilise aucun intrant et aucun sulfite. Dans ces vins SAINS, on retrouve que 30 mg/litre de soufre.

Pour connaître la différence entre les vins biologiques, vins biodynamiques et vins naturels, ça se passe par ici 

 

Les vins conventionnels

Le cahier des charges des vins conventionnels laissent beaucoup de place à l’ajout de sulfites. La marche entre un maquillage bien fait et un visage de clown est assez fine, et c’est le même principe pour le vin ! On a vite fait de mettre le gramme de sulfites de trop qui vient dénaturer complètement le produit. Les vins bios, biodynamiques et naturels ont une approche plus respectueuse du vin pour ce qu’il est et aborder le vin avec ses qualités et ses défauts. 

Le soufre fonctionne comme un antioxydant et un stabilisateur, rien de mauvais en soit mais il faut le manier avec précaution. Les habitués des vins naturels sans sulfites ajoutés reconnaissent directement le soufre lorsque sa quantité atteint les 20/30 grammes par litre. Pour des dégustateurs lambda, il est difficile de reconnaître le goût du souffre tout simplement car nous ne sommes pas habitués à ressentir et à différencier ce goût. Néanmoins, un vin conventionnel comme il contient beaucoup plus d’additifs et de transformateurs, peut perdre de sa vraie saveur. L’impact sur la santé est également important à prendre en compte.

Fermer (esc)
Popup

Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Recherche
Nos engagements
Panier
Votre panier est vide.
Boutique