The Oé team offers delivery from 6 bottles ordered!

Why can organic wine sting?

You have just bought a bottle of organic wine and when you taste it, your wine stings or pearls slightly. You wonder why you feel these sensations and above all you would like to know if it is normal. Let's go, the Oé team explains all about the mysteries of organic wines that sting. By bike Simone!


What is a stinging wine?

A wine that stings or sparkles slightly? Don't worry, it's a not so rare phenomenon! This taste sensation is linked to the acidity of the wine. After the harvest comes the vinification . And during vinification , the wine undergoes an alcoholic fermentation: the yeasts on the grape skin transform the sugar into alcohol. Carbon dioxide (CO2) is then naturally produced, and it is this CO2 which can cause a beading effect in the mouth at the time of tasting. The winemaker can choose to degas the wine or leave carbon dioxide to protect the wine. The latter will be less sensitive to oxygen: oxygenation of the wine - too much oxygen in the bottle - can cause it to turn and give it a bad taste. Grapes in biodynamic or organic agriculture are more sensitive to disease, transport, and during storage. Winegrowers who manage a vineyard according to the specifications of the organic label or who produce natural wine have several techniques to take care of their cuvées.


Oé, find our selection of committed wines!



Organic wine that stings: wine fault?

Whether it is red wines , white wines or rosé wines , you can come across cuvées from organic viticulture that pearl slightly when tasted . It is said that a wine stings - or pearls - when it is slightly effervescent. It is a phenomenon that is triggered during a secondary fermentation that the winemaker controls during vinification.

You can smell certain faults in the wines, such as aromas of stables, vinegar, rotten eggs, nail polish and chard apples, for example. As you can imagine, they are not pleasant to smell or taste but cannot make you sick. La Wineista talks very well about wine faults in her article .

A wine is said to be pitted or to have an acetic pitting when the wine turns into vinegar. This phenomenon can occur if the winemaker fails to manage the presence of oxygen and acetic acid bacteria during vinification .


Organic winegrowers choose to leave CO2 in the wine for several reasons:

  • Use less sulfur (SO2). Sulfites play an antioxidant role during bottling, they prevent the wine from oxidizing and having a bad taste. Used in small doses, it is not harmful to health. On the other hand, finding a substitute makes it possible to prolong the conservation of the wine while being better for your health.
  • Bring character to the wine because the bubbles allow the aromas to be diffused throughout the nectar and amplify the nose of the wine. The gas does not hide the faults of the wine, because they themselves are amplified with the presence of CO2.
  • Give freshness to the wine while maintaining a good balance.

Winemakers who practice organic viticulture or produce natural sulfite-free wines keep the CO2 produced during fermentation or add it to protect the wine. If you feel at the time of tasting that your organic wines are sparkling, do not hesitate to decant and even shake the carafe to release the gas more quickly (without mistaking your carafe for a shaker). The gesture seems violent but it is very effective.

Oé, find our selection of committed wines!


Organic wine and natural wine that stings: decant to reduce the sensation

As CO2 is a volatile gas, do not hesitate to open your wines 20 minutes in advance for whites, and decant red wines 1 hour before tasting to aerate them . This will allow the wine to open up, deploy its aromas and its voluptuousness. For white wines, the simple fact of swirling the glass of wine with a twist of the wrist increases the taste tenfold and reduces the sparkling aspect of the wine.


Airing the wine helps to have a better nose and to develop the aromas in the mouth . The nose of the wine is the aromas that the wine gives off when you smell it before swirling your glass. Depending on the origin and the terroirs on which the vine and the bunches of grapes grow, the wine will not have the same typicity or the same power.


Each wine does not flourish on the same soils , does not enjoy the same climates and the grape varieties are different from one bottle to another. In France, we have organic Provence wines , organic Vaucluse wines , organic Bordeaux wines , organic Languedoc wines , organic Mediterranean wines and organic Côtes du Rhône wines for example.

Oé, find our selection of committed wines!

Close (esc)
pop-up

Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Search
Our engagements
Shopping Cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now

Pourquoi le vin bio peut-il piquer ?

Vous venez d’acheter une bouteille de vin bio et à la dégustation, votre vin pique ou perle légèrement. Vous vous demandez pourquoi vous sentez ces sensations et surtout vous aimeriez bien savoir si c’est normal. C’est parti, l’équipe Oé vous explique tout sur les mystères des vins biologiques qui piquent. En vélo Simone ! 


Qu’est-ce qu’un vin qui pique ? 

Un vin qui pique ou pétille légèrement ? Ne vous inquiétez pas, c’est un phénomène pas si rare ! Cette sensation gustative est liée à l’acidité du vin. Après les vendanges vient la vinification. Et lors de la vinification, le vin subit une fermentation alcoolique : les levures sur la peau de raisin transforment le sucre en alcool. Du gaz carbonique (CO2) est alors naturellement produit, et c’est ce CO2 qui peut provoquer un effet perlant en bouche au moment de la dégustation. Le vigneron peut choisir de faire un dégazage du vin ou de laisser du gaz carbonique pour protéger le vin. Ce dernier sera moins sensible à l’oxygène : une oxygénation du vin - trop d’oxygène dans la bouteille - peut faire le faire tourner et lui donner mauvais goût. Le raisin en agriculture biodynamique ou biologique est de base plus sensible aux maladies, au transport, et lors de la conservation. Les vignerons qui conduisent un vignoble selon le cahier des charges du label bio ou qui produisent du vin naturel ont plusieurs techniques pour prendre soin de leurs cuvées.  


Oé, retrouvez notre sélection de vins engagés !



Vin bio qui pique : défaut du vin ?

Que ce soit des vins rouges, des vins blancs ou des vins rosés, vous pouvez tomber sur des cuvées en viticulture biologique qui perlent légèrement au moment de la dégustation. On dit qu’un vin pique - ou perle - quand il est légèrement effervescent. C’est un phénomène qui se déclenche lors d’une fermentation secondaire que le vigneron contrôle pendant la vinification. 

On peut sentir certains défauts dans les vins comme des arômes d’écurie, de vinaigre, d’oeuf pourri, de vernis à ongle et de pomme blette par exemple. Comme vous pouvez vous douter, ils ne sont pas agréable à sentir ou déguster mais ne peuvent pas vous rendre malade. La Wineista parle très bien des défauts du vin dans son article

On dit qu’un vin est piqué ou qu’il a une piqûre acétique lorsque le vin se transforme en vinaigre. Ce phénomène peut se produire si le vigneron n’arrive pas à gérer la présence d’oxygène et des bactéries acétiques lors de la vinification.


Les vignerons bio choisissent de laisser du CO2 dans le vin pour plusieurs raisons : 

  • Utiliser moins de soufre (SO2). Les sulfites jouent un rôle d’antioxydant lors de l’embouteillage, ils évitent que le vin s’oxyde et soit mauvais en goût. Utilisé en petite dose, il n’est pas nocif pour la santé. En revanche, trouver un substitut permet de prolonger la conservation du vin tout en étant meilleur pour la santé. 
  • Apporter du caractère au vin car les bulles permettent de diffuser les arômes dans tout le nectar et amplifient le nez du vin. Le gaz ne cache pas les défauts du vin, car ils sont eux-mêmes amplifiés avec la présence de CO2. 
  • Donner de la fraîcheur au vin tout en conservant un bon équilibre. 

Les vignerons qui pratiquent la viticulture biologique ou qui produisent des vins naturels sans sulfite gardent le CO2 produit pendant la fermentation ou en ajoutent pour protéger le vin. Si vous sentez au moment de la dégustation que vos vins bios sont perlants, il ne faut pas hésiter à carafer et même secouer la carafe pour faire partir le gaz plus rapidement (sans pour autant prendre votre carafe pour un shaker). Le geste paraît violent mais il est très efficace. 

Oé, retrouvez notre sélection de vins engagés !


Vin bio et vin naturel qui pique : carafer pour atténuer la sensation 

Comme le CO2 est un gaz volatile, n’hésitez pas à ouvrir vos vins 20 minutes à l’avance pour les blancs, et de carafer les vins rouges 1 heure avant dégustation pour les aérer. Cela permettra au vin de s’ouvrir, déployer ses arômes et sa volupté. Pour les vins blancs, le simple fait de faire tourner son verre de vin d’une rotation de poignet permet de décupler le goût et atténuer l’aspect perlant du vin. 


Aérer le vin permet d’avoir un meilleur nez et de développer les arômes en bouche. Le nez du vin, ce sont les arômes que dégage le vin quand on le sent avant de faire tourner son verre. Selon la provenance et les terroirs sur lesquels la vigne et les grappes de raisins évoluent, le vin n’aura pas la même typicité ni la même puissance. 


Chaque vin ne s’épanouie pas sur les mêmes terroirs, ne jouissent pas des mêmes climats et les cépages sont différents d’une bouteille à l’autre. En France, on a les vins bio Provence, les vins bio Vaucluse, les vins bio Bordeaux, les vins bio Languedoc, les vins bio Méditerranée et les vins bio Côtes du Rhône par exemple. 

Oé, retrouvez notre sélection de vins engagés !

Fermer (esc)

Popup

Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Recherche
Menu principal
Panier
Votre panier est vide.
Boutique