The Oé team offers delivery from 6 bottles ordered!

The colors of white wine: the whole range of colors

At Oé, we dress rather “casual”. But when the opportunity arises, we love to put on our 31! Moreover, Thomas, our co-founder, is a lover of dress codes. He would tell you everything about the color of the shoes to choose according to the time and the occasion. Anyway, back on topic. When we prepare for an occasion, we go through our wardrobe, we do a test, a second, then a third... We check in the mirror that everything fits well, we do a little dance step, a perfume shot, boosted confidence and let's go for the evening! Finally, between the wine and us there is not too much difference, he too loves to show off his best dress ... ;)


Where does the color of white wine come from?

The dress of white wine, a story of colors, but not only...

When we talk about the robe of a wine, we are in fact talking about its appearance, as with the coat of a horse, for example. We are obviously talking about colors but also about brilliance, clarity, viscosity, intensity and nuance .

Hey Fred, those are the parameters to take into account. And yes Jamy, a glass of wine is a work of art: we take the time to contemplate it, to understand its history, and we choose to live this moment with people who are dear to us and who share the passion or the desire to know more about wine. (and yes, a wine is always drunk with a friend of choice: Moderation)


Vinification, the birth of the wine color

As with painting a picture, it's a matter of pigment . For wine, these pigments are called anthocyanins and they are found naturally on the skin film of grapes . Initially, whether it is made from a black grape variety or a white grape variety , the grape juice is white in color. As white wine does not go through maceration , the juice is not in contact with the must and therefore remains white.


Conversely, for red wine , the juice macerates with the must and therefore changes color . The juice that is at the bottom of the vats (or barrels or barrels ) is called saignée rosé . It is very colorful and it is extracted to be vinified separately. To have a less colored rosé , the winegrowers use the pressing technique which consists of pressing the juice just after crushing and putting it in vats directly to start fermentation .


We give you an anecdote to shine in society and break a false belief: the color of white wine does not depend on the color of reason, and white wine can be made from black grapes and white grapes. Unlike red wine, which will only be made from black grape varieties, hence the expressions “ blanc de blancs ” or “ blanc de noirs ”.

The winemaker, master builder of the color of a white wine

The artist is of course the winegrower . The vine has no secrets for him and he expresses the typicality of his wine thanks to his talent. He has several keys in hand to develop the color of his wine. The grape variety , maceration ( red wine , rosé wine ), fermentation ( white wine ), fining and ageing .


Wine color and grape variety

It all begins in the vineyards . The black grape varieties and the white grape varieties do not have the same rendering in vinification . For example, a pinot noir gives a less intense color than a cabernet . The winegrower can therefore make blends to balance the strengths of each of the grape varieties he has. The Muscats , a large family of white and black grape varieties, also have a palette of different aromas and colors that you never get tired of.

Wine color and fermentation

Have you noticed that sweet and syrupy white wines tend to have a rather yellow gold color? Well, it's due to their high sugar content which turns into alcohol thanks to the action of yeasts during fermentation . Whereas dry white wines , which feature more acidity on the palate, have paler hues.

Wine color and collage

Fining , which is an optional step, allows the winemaker to clarify his wine, to soften the tannins , to reduce the bitterness and to fix the color of the wine according to the proteins used.

breeding

Aging in oak barrels makes it possible to bring new aromas to the wines (vanilla, undergrowth, toast, etc.) but also to change its structure thanks to different chemical reactions due to oxidation. Concrete, stainless steel or fiberglass tanks are more suitable for wines for which the winemaker wishes to preserve youth and freshness .


For white wine, aging on lees (yeasts from alcoholic fermentation ) is very common to stabilize and improve the quality of the wine .



Wine color and aging

The winegrower plays, among other things, on the aging of his wine to give it certain aromas ( tertiary ) and to develop the colour , the tannic structure and the development of the aromas of his wine. . Your wine can also evolve in your cellar . Do not hesitate to do the test, compare your bottles over time, observe them and taste them you will see that with age your wine will change.


For sparkling wines , aging on a latte is known in particular for Champagne in order to ensure good quality and good conservation. And yes, Champagne , a prestigious sparkling wine , has the luxury of sleeping on a cozy bed to offer its best flavors...

Choose your white wine according to its color

White wine: a rainbow of colors?

There are more shades of color in the robe of a white wine than there are in the rainbow. Here are some that you can proudly give away to wow your friends: yellow green , russet , straw yellow , green gold , pale gold , yellow gold , golden , old gold , light amber , dark amber


Observing the color of a wine is a good way to know if you are dealing with rather young wines or if they have reached maturity . For red wines, the color is moving towards brick red or caramel tones while for white wines the yellow becomes more and more golden or even amber for sweet wines . As you will have understood, the color has a link with the aromas of the wine, so a piece of advice, do not choose it only because you like its pretty complexion!

Our food and wine pairing advice for a white wine

Tasting is a moment that we love. The sound of the cork being removed, the first vapors of alcohol tickling our noses, the glasses filling up little by little and the smiles appearing on the faces of the guests. Isn't life beautiful?



At Oé, we really like light wines for an aperitif. A small sandwich of salmon, slices of cucumber combined with homemade mayonnaise and the finesse of a glass of dry wine will make our mouths water!


Liquid error: product form must be given a product

from



The greediest among us are also tempted by a fruity and very soft mellow . Our Côtes-de-Bergerac with its notes of honey and lime blossom is an ideal companion for all occasions.


Liquid error: product form must be given a product

from




For a cheese tasting , our best friend is our AOC Bugey , a 100% Chardonnay dry wine and 100% pleasure with its pretty pale yellow color and its aromatic note of white flowers .


Liquid error: product form must be given a product

from



The white Côtes-du-Rhône is a little gem created from typical grape varieties of the region: La Roussane and Grenache blanc . It will go perfectly with baked vegetables , and will also be suitable for lovers of raw vegetables .



To indulge yourself with seafood, nothing better than a white Bordeaux which transports us directly to the Atlantic coast, with the sound of the waves and the smell of hot sand.


Liquid error: product form must be given a product

from




You can also find all of our good organic Vaucluse wines , organic Bordeaux wines , organic Languedoc wines , organic Mediterranean wines , organic Côtes du Rhône wines .

Close (esc)
pop-up

Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Search
Our engagements
Shopping Cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now

Les couleurs du vin blanc : toute la palette de robes

Chez Oé, on s’habille plutôt “casual”. Mais quand l’occasion se présente, on adore se mettre sur notre 31 ! D’ailleurs, Thomas, notre co-fondateur, est un amoureux des codes vestimentaires. Il saurait tout vous dire sur la couleur des chaussures à choisir en fonction de l’heure et de l’occasion. Bref, revenons à nos moutons. Quand on se prépare pour une occasion, on parcourt notre garde-robe, on fait un essai, un deuxième, puis un troisième... On vérifie dans le miroir que tout s’accorde bien, on fait un petit pas de danse, un coup de parfum, confiance boostée à bloc et c’est parti pour la soirée ! Finalement, entre le vin et nous il n’y a pas trop de différence, lui aussi il adore montrer sa plus belle robe… ;)


D’ou vient la couleur du vin blanc ?

La robe du vin blanc, une histoire de couleurs, mais pas que...

Quand on parle de la robe d’un vin, on parle en fait de son aspect, comme pour le pelage d’un cheval par exemple. On parle bien évidemment de couleurs mais aussi de brillance, de limpidité, de viscosité, d’intensité et de nuance

Dis donc Fred, ça en fait des paramètres à prendre en compte. Et oui Jamy, un verre de vin c’est une œuvre d’art : on prend le temps de la contempler, de comprendre son histoire, et on choisit de vivre ce moment avec des personnes qui nous sont chères et qui partagent la passion ou le désir d’en savoir plus sur le vin.  (et oui, un vin se boit toujours avec un ami de choix : Modération)


La vinification, la naissance de la robe du vin

Comme pour la peinture d’un tableau, c’est une histoire de pigment. Pour le vin, ces pigments sont appelés les anthocyanes et on les retrouve naturellement sur le film pelliculaire du raisin. Au départ, qu’il soit issu d’un cépage noir ou d’un cépage blanc, le jus de raisin est de couleur blanche. Comme le vin blanc ne passe pas par la macération, le jus n’est pas en contact avec le moût et reste donc blanc. 


À l’inverse, pour le vin rouge, le jus macère avec le moût et il change donc de couleur. Le jus qui se trouve en fond de cuves (ou barriques ou fûts) s’appelle le rosé de saignée. Il est très coloré et il est extrait pour être vinifié à part. Pour avoir un rosé moins coloré, les vignerons utilisent la technique de pressurage qui consiste à presser le jus juste après le foulage et le mettre en cuve directement pour débuter la fermentation.


On vous livre une anecdote pour briller en société et casser une fausse croyance : la couleur du vin blanc ne dépend pas de la couleur du raison, et le vin blanc peut être conçu à base de raisins noirs et de raisins blancs. Contrairement au vin rouge qui ne sera fait qu’a partir de cépages noirs d’où les expressions “blanc de blancs” ou “blanc de noirs”.

Le vigneron, maître d’oeuvre de la couleur d’un vin blanc

L’artiste, c’est bien sûr le vigneron. La vigne n’a pas de secret pour lui et il exprime la typicité de son vin grâce à son talent. Il a plusieurs clés en main pour faire évoluer la robe de son vin. Le cépage, la macération (vin rouge, vin rosé), fermentation (vin blanc), le collage et l’élevage


Couleur du vin et cépage 

C’est dans les vignes que tout commence. Les cépages noirs et les cépages blancs n’ont pas le même rendu à la vinification. Par exemple, un pinot noir donne une robe moins intense qu’un cabernet. Le vigneron peut donc faire des assemblages pour équilibrer les forces de chacun des cépages qu’il dispose. Les Muscats, grande famille de cépages blancs et noirs ont aussi une palette d’arômes et de couleurs différents dont on ne se lasse jamais.

Couleur du vin et fermentation 

Avez-vous remarqué que les vins blancs moelleux et liquoreux, ont tendance à avoir une couleur plutôt Or jaune ? Eh bien c’est dû à leur taux de sucre élevé qui se transforme en alcool grâce à l’action des levures pendant la fermentation. Alors que les vins blancs secs, qui présentent plus d’acidité en bouche, ont des teintes plus pâles.

Couleur du vin et collage

Le collage, qui est une étape optionnelle, permet au vigneron de clarifier son vin, d’assouplir les tanins, de réduire l’amertume et de fixer la couleur du vin en fonction des protéines utilisées.

L’élevage

Un élevage en fût de chêne permet d’apporter de nouveaux arômes aux vins (vanille, sous-bois, pain grillé…) mais aussi de faire évoluer sa structure grâce à différentes réactions chimiques dues à l'oxydation. Les cuves en béton, inox ou fibre de verre sont plus adaptées aux vins pour lesquels le vigneron souhaite préserver la jeunesse et la fraîcheur.


Pour le vin blanc, l’élevage sur lies (levures issues de la fermentation alcoolique) est très répendue pour stabiliser et améliorer la qualité du vin



Couleur du vin et vieillissement

Le vigneron joue entre autres sur le vieillissement de son vin pour lui apporter certains arômes (tertiaires) et faire évoluer la robe, la structure tannique et le développement des arômes de son vin.. Dans votre cave aussi votre vin peut évoluer. N’hésitez pas à faire le test, comparez vos bouteilles au fil du temps, observez-les et goûtez-les vous verrez qu’avec l’âge votre vin va se transformer. 


Pour les mousseux, le vieillissement sur latte est connu notamment pour le Champagne afin d’assurer une bonne qualité et une bonne conservation. Et oui, le Champagne, prestigieux vin pétillant, a le luxe de dormir sur un lit douillet pour offrir ses meilleures saveurs...

Choisir son vin blanc en fonction de sa couleur

Le vin blanc : un arc en ciel de couleurs ?

Il y a plus de nuances de couleurs dans la robe d’un vin blanc qu’il n’y en a dans l’arc-en-ciel. En voici quelques unes que vous pouvez donner avec fierté pour épater vos amis : jaune vert, roux, jaune paille, or vert, or pâle, or jaune, doré, vieil or, ambré clair, ambré foncé


Observer la robe d’un vin est un bon moyen pour savoir si vous avez à faire à des vins plutôt jeunes ou s'ils sont arrivés à maturité. Pour les vins rouges, la robe s’oriente vers des tons rouge brique ou caramel tandis que pour les vins blancs le jaune devient de plus en plus doré voir ambré pour les vins liquoreux. Vous l’aurez compris, la couleur a un lien avec les arômes du vin, alors un conseil, ne le choisissez pas uniquement parce que vous aimez son joli teint !

Nos conseils accords mets et vins pour un vin blanc

La dégustation c’est un moment qu’on adore. Le bruit du bouchon qu’on retire, les premières vapeurs d’alcool qui nous chatouillent le nez, les verres qui se remplissent petit à petit et les sourires qui se dessinent sur le visage des convives. Elle est pas belle la vie ?



Chez Oé, on aime beaucoup les vins légers pour l’apéro. Une petite tartine de saumon, des lamelles de concombre associés à une mayonnaise maison et la finesse d’un verre de vin sec nous mettent l’eau à la bouche ! 


Liquid error: product form must be given a product

À partir de



Les plus gourmands d’entre nous se laissent aussi tenter par un moelleux fruité et très doux. Notre Côtes-de-Bergerac avec ses notes de miel et de tilleul est un compagnon idéal pour toutes les occasions.


Liquid error: product form must be given a product

À partir de




Pour une dégustation de fromages, notre meilleur ami c’est notre AOC Bugey, un vin sec 100% Chardonnay et 100% plaisir avec sa jolie robe jaune pâle et sa note aromatique de fleurs blanches


Liquid error: product form must be given a product

À partir de



Le Côtes-du-Rhône blanc est un petit bijou crée à partir de cépages typiques de la région : La Roussane et le Grenache blanc. Il se mariera parfaitement avec des légumes cuits au four, et conviendra aussi aux amateurs de légumes crus.



Pour se faire plaisir avec des fruits de mer, rien de mieux qu’un Bordeaux blanc qui nous transporte directement sur la côte atlantique, avec le chant des vagues et l’odeur du sable chaud. 


Liquid error: product form must be given a product

À partir de




Vous pouvez aussi retrouver l’ensemble de nos bons Vins Bio Vaucluse, Vins Bio Bordeaux, Vins Bio Languedoc, Vins Bio Méditerranée, Vins Bio Côtes du Rhône.

Fermer (esc)
Popup

Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Recherche
Nos engagements
Panier
Votre panier est vide.
Boutique