The Oé team offers delivery from 6 bottles ordered!

What wine with oysters?

Oysters occupy a place of choice during feasts in France, where the main center of refining and production is located (in the Marennes-Oléron basin). Raw or hot, their tasting invites you to subtly choose the wine that will be able to accompany them. And to the question what wine with oysters? This article offers you two alternatives: extending the tradition with white wine , or breaking it with the choice of the originality of other wines.

The traditional choice: the use of dry and fruity white wine

It's a habit that continues, oysters, especially when they are raw, go almost automatically with fruity dry white wines with high acidity. But to see more clearly, we quickly understand that this choice is not trivial for more than one reason.

Why fruity dry white wine?

The particular texture of oysters (presence of iodine in large quantities), as well as the nutty taste of certain species coupled with the acidity of dry and fruity white wines , makes this alliance the perfect choice for tasting oysters. Given that the acidity of a dry white wine with fruity aromas contrasts with the oily and sometimes milky texture of oysters (during the summer oysters are generally milky, it is their breeding season) nothing better than a good dry wine to contain the very strong iodine intensity of its shell.

In addition, the fruity flavor of white and dry wines helps to purify the taste between two mouthfuls of oysters. It is a safe bet of the alliance. Better, it contributes to the perfection of this agreement. Its low alcohol content and its fresh flavor bring out the strongly iodized and saline notes of the oysters. The proximity that these wines maintain with the sea and the freshness of the climate makes their contact with the texture of the oysters very tasty.

Which white wines to choose?

The tasting of oysters is common to each region, the same goes for the choice of wine that goes with it. The ideal would be acidulated (wines with a slightly acidic taste) paired with acidulated low in alcohol, young and light. There are major production strongholds in France. To help you in this regard, here is a list of some strongholds with their best wines that can go well with your oysters. These are mainly the Loire, Bordeaux, Burgundy and Alsace.

  • The dry and fruity white wines of the Loire

A Dena Dela. Produced in ideal conditions between the ocean and the mountains in Ciboure in the Atlantic Pyrenees, the Dena Dela is lively and precise because it is subject to very meticulous vinification. Its association with oysters allows you to fully savor its acidity as well as its aroma of lemon and grapefruit. Its tasting is done like a sparkling wine, it has the gift of expressing lemon notes and more mineral tones when its temperature is between 8 and 10°C. Very sweet, its alcohol content is 11% vol. It is necessary to plan 12 € to get a bottle of 75 cl.

The white Sancerre. Produced in the Loire vineyards which benefits from a perceptible oceanic climate although far from the coast, the white Sancerre effectively marries the salty taste of oysters due to its acidity. It is a supple wine with flavors of fruity and citrus aromas endowed with a strong aromatic nervousness, which becomes better with time. It is an aperitif that goes perfectly with shellfish; its price varies between €13 and €19 for a 75 cl bottle for an alcohol content of 12.5% ​​vol.

  • The dry and fruity white wines of Bordeaux

The Between Two Seas . This product from the Gironde with a relatively low alcohol content (12% vol) is a flagship appellation of Bordeaux wines . Like the vast majority of dry white wines, it is advisable to drink it young to savor the delights of its freshness. On this subject, you will find this feeling of freshness very pleasant. It makes it a very suitable wine for oysters, its light and fruity aspect comes from the Sauvignon and Sémillon grape varieties.

Muscadet blanc: there are several varieties, but the one that stands out qualitatively from the others is Muscadet Sèvre-et-Maine. It is one of the most famous wines in the world, its specificity comes from the fact that it can be aged on lees, then bottled early so that it can retain its freshness and liveliness. This dry wine with fruity and floral aromas perfectly marries the iodized texture of the oyster. Its freshness makes it possible to break with the very pronounced traditional acidity of oysters paired with vinegar and lemon.

A windfall. The particular vinification to which this wine is subjected gives it an acidity and a minerality which is perfectly suited to oysters, however, it is preferable to choose a wine which has no woody notes for a successful marriage. Generic Chablis is therefore very popular for this purpose. It is a discreet wine, with aromas of white flowers mixed with fine and delicate citrus aromas which bring it closer to notes of ripe fruit. It has a fruity flavor which is accompanied by mineral notes leaving a nice length in the mouth.

  • Alsatian wine

Pinot blanc. Her beauty goes beyond her pale yellow dress. This limpid and brilliant wine discreetly fruity with notes of apple, peach and floral nuances faithfully translates the aromas from the grape which gives it a very punctuated acidity which makes it tender and light.

Riesling from Alsace. This wine is characterized by the freshness of its multiple aromas that are both fruity (with lemon, grapefruit, fruits composed of peach and pear) but also floral (white flowers, white nettle) which exalts the subtle flavor of the oysters while emphasizing their iodized character. It is a unique wine due to its ability to develop minerals depending on the soil where it is produced. Dry and vertical, it benefits from a liveliness that does not leave anyone indifferent throughout the tasting, even more importantly, its breadth reaches its climax in the middle of the mouth. His discretion is an asset that allows him to gain in quality over time. It brings a touch of favorable lightness to new bites.

The choice of originality: champagne or red wine

You are surely fed up with all these traditions that force you to match your oysters with dry white wines and you want to do with other very original alternatives that do not diminish your pleasure. Know that you are not wrong indeed, hot oysters go better with champagne and to some extent certain red wines. But here again the choice of wine is important.

The choice of bubbles: champagne

Champagne is a natural pairing with hot oysters, its demarcation vis-à-vis other wines comes from its verve and its finesse which place it in pole position of the perfect allies for seafood but also aperitifs. It would be incongruous to deprive oneself of it because the natural greed of this wine makes it a sparkling wine. However, for an adequate symbiosis, the choice of classic cuvées such as: raw or semi-raw champagne is strongly recommended because of the stimulating bubbles produced.

The choice of brut champagne : unlike demi-sec champagne whose sugar content per liter is quite high (33 to 50 grams of sugar per liter), brut champagne is very low in sugar (17 to 35 grams in sugar per litre) its lively acidity allows it to stand up to the saline notes of oysters.

The Blanc de Blancs cuvée : awarded at the 2017 World Chardonnay World Competition where it won the gold medal, this 100% Chardonnay with a brilliant white gold color takes on an intensity with flavors not only of mirabelle plum, but also of toasted bread. Its vinification is done automatically. Its tasting is very elegant, it provides a frank freshness with a taste of dried fruit towards the end. Considered by some to be the best Chardonnay in the world, the Blanc de Blancs cuvée is the perfect companion for your dinner aperitifs, it goes perfectly with oysters. Its price varies between 5 and 9 € per bottle.

The large extra brut reserve of Maison Dehours made up of 57% pinot, 10% chardonnay 3% pinot noir, and low dose with 7 grams of sugar per litre, it favors its great generosity in aromas in order to preserve its freshness with lively notes of citrus fruits (orange and lemon zest) but also very ripe white and yellow fruits (pear and apricot). Its tasting traces the spices of vanilla cinnamon, allowing it to retain its minerality and vivacity in order to marry the oysters which could not dream of a better companion. A bottle is worth around 23.90€.

The red wine option

Knowing that not everyone is an unconditional fan of bubbles, there is another equally original option: that of red wine . It remains an uncommon practice. It is much more in Bordeaux that we see this mixture. This pairing is more effective when the oysters have very little iodine . This mixture is ideal for oyster mushrooms that only a few red wines can combine properly. Nevertheless, here is a shortlist of some recommended red wines: a red Atlantic, a red Bordeaux, a Côte de Bordeaux, a red Brulhois or a red Chinon .

Liquid error: product form must be given a product

from


Conclusion

In short, you will no longer have to ask yourself the question of which wine with oysters ! An accompaniment list has been proposed to you with the hope that you will be able to get out of the game in the face of the embarrassment between tradition with dry and fruity white wines and the originality of champagne or red wine . All you have to do is enjoy your tastings to the full.

Close (esc)
pop-up

Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Search
Our engagements
Shopping Cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now

Quel vin avec les huîtres ?

Les huîtres occupent une place de choix lors des festins en France, où se situe le principal centre d’affinage et de production (dans le bassin de marennes-Oléron). Crues ou chaudes, leur dégustation invite à choisir subtilement le vin qui sera à même de les accompagner. Et à la question quel vin avec les huîtres? Cet article vous propose deux alternatives : le prolongement de la tradition avec le vin blanc, ou la rupture de celle-ci avec le choix de l’originalité des autres vins.

Le choix traditionnel : le recours au vin blanc sec et fruité

C’est une habitude qui perdure, les huîtres, en particulier quand elles sont crues, s’accordent de façon presque automatique avec des vins blancs secs fruités relevés en acidité. Mais à voir plus clair, on comprend très vite que ce choix n’est pas anodin pour plus d’une raison.

Pourquoi le vin blanc sec fruité ?

La texture particulière des huîtres (présence de l’iode en grande quantité), de même que le goût noisette de certaines espèces couplé avec l’acidité des vins blanc secs et fruités, fait de cette alliance le choix parfait pour la dégustation des huîtres. Etant donné que l’acidité d’un vin blanc sec aux arômes fruités s’oppose à la texture grasse et parfois laiteuse des huîtres (durant l’été les huîtres sont généralement laiteuses c’est leur période de reproduction) rien de mieux qu’un bon vin sec pour contenir leur très forte intensité iodée de son coquillage.

De plus, la saveur fruitée des vins blancs et secs contribue à purifier le goût entre deux bouchées d’huîtres. C’est une valeur sûre de l’alliance. Mieux, elle contribue à la perfection de cet accord. Sa faible teneur en alcool, et sa saveur fraîche permettent de relever les notes fortement iodées et salines des huîtres. La proximité que ces vins entretiennent avec la mer et la fraîcheur du climat rend leur contact avec la texture des huîtres très savoureux.

Quels vins blancs choisir ?

La dégustation des huîtres est commune à chaque région, Il en va de même du choix du vin qui va avec. L’idéal serait des acidulés (des vins ayant un goût légèrement acide) les marier à des acidulés faibles en alcool, jeunes et légers. Il existe en France de grands bastions de production Pour vous aider dans ce sens voici une liste de quelques bastions avec leurs meilleurs vins qui peuvent s’accorder avec vos huîtres. Il s’agit principalement de la Loire, de Bordeaux, de La Bourgogne et de l’Alsace.

  • Les vins blancs secs et fruités de la Loire

Un Dena Dela. Produit dans des conditions idéales entre l’océan et la montagne à Ciboure dans les Pyrénées atlantiques, le Dena Dela se veut vif et précis car sujet à une vinification très méticuleuse. Son association avec les huîtres permet de savourer pleinement son acidité ainsi que son arôme de citron et de pamplemousse. Sa dégustation se fait à la manière d’un effervescent, il a le don d’exprimer des notes de citron et des tonalités plus minérales lorsque sa température est comprise entre 8 et 10°C. Très doux, son degré d’alcool est de 11% vol. Il faut prévoir 12 € pour se procurer une bouteille de 75 cl.

Le Sancerre blanc. Produit dans le vignoble de la Loire qui bénéficie qui bénéficie d’un climat océanique perceptible bien qu’éloigné de la côte, le Sancerre blanc épouse efficacement le goût salé des huîtres du fait de son acidité. C’est un vin souple aux saveurs d’arômes fruités et agrumes doté d’une forte nervosité aromatique, qui devient meilleur avec du temps. C’est un apéritif qui s’accorde parfaitement avec les crustacés ; son prix varie entre 13 et 19€ pour une bouteille de 75 cl pour un degré d’alcool s’élevant 12.5% vol.

  • Les vins blancs secs et fruités de Bordeaux 

L’Entre-deux-Mers. Ce produit de la Gironde au taux d’alcool relativement bas (12% vol) est une appellation phare de vins de Bordeaux. A l’instar de la grande majorité des vins blancs secs, il est conseillé de le boire jeune pour savourer les délices de sa fraîcheur. A ce sujet, vous trouverez cette sensation de fraîcheur très agréable. Elle fait de lui un vin très adapté pour les huîtres, son aspect léger et fruité provient des cépages de sauvignon et de sémillon. 

Découvrez l'Entre-Deux-Mers du Domaine de Bourdieu !

Le muscadet blanc : il existe plusieurs variétés, mais celui qui se distingue qualitativement des autres c’est le Muscadet Sèvre-et-Maine. C’est l’un des vins les plus célèbres dans le monde, sa spécificité provient du fait qu’il peut être élevé sur lie, puis embouteillé précocement pour qu’il puisse conserver sa fraîcheur et sa vivacité. Ce vin sec aux arômes fruités et floraux épouse à la perfection la texture iodée de l’huître sa fraîcheur permet de rompre avec l’acidité traditionnelle très prononcée des huîtres accordées avec vinaigre et le citron.

  • Vins de Bourgogne

Un chablis. La vinification particulière à laquelle est soumis ce vin lui procure une acidité et une minéralité qui convient parfaitement aux huîtres cependant, il est préférable de choisir un vin qui n’a pas de notes boisées pour un mariage réussi. Le chablis générique est donc très apprécié à cet effet. C’est un vin discret, aux arômes de fleurs blanches mêlées aux fins et délicats arômes d’agrumes qui le rapprochent des notes de fruits mûrs. Il a une saveur fruitée qui s’accompagne des notes minérales laissant une belle longueur à la bouche. 

  • Vin d’Alsace

Pinot blanc. Sa beauté va au-delà de sa robe jaune pâle. Ce vin limpide et brillant discrètement fruité aux notes de pomme, de pêche et des nuances florales traduit fidèlement les arômes issus du raisin ce qui lui confère une acidité très ponctuée qui le rend tendre et léger. 

Découvrez cet incroyable Pinot Blanc !

Riesling d’Alsace. Ce vin se caractérise par la fraîcheur de ses multiples arômes à la fois fruités (au citron pamplemousse fruits composés pêche et poire) mais aussi floraux (fleurs blanches, ortie blanche) qui exalte la saveur subtile des huîtres tout en soulignant leur caractère iodé. C’est un vin unique de par sa capacité à développer des minéraux en fonction du sol où il est produit. Sec et vertical, il bénéficie d’une vivacité qui ne laisse pas indifférent durant toute la dégustation plus importante encore, son ampleur atteint son paroxysme au milieu de la bouche. Sa discrétion est un atout qui lui permet de gagner en qualité avec le temps. Il apporte une touche de légèreté favorable des nouvelles bouchées.

Le choix de l’originalité : champagne ou vin rouge

Vous en avez sûrement marre de toutes ces traditions qui vous imposent à accorder vos huîtres avec des vins blancs secs et vous voulez faire avec d’autres alternatives très originales qui n’amenuisent pas pour autant votre plaisir. Sachez que vous n’avez pas tort en effet, les huîtres chaudes s’accompagnent mieux avec le champagne et une certaine mesure certains vins rouges. Mais là encore le choix du vin est important. 

Le choix des bulles : le champagne

Le champagne constitue un accord naturel avec les huîtres chaudes, sa démarcation vis-à-vis des autres vins provient de sa verve et de sa finesse qui le placent en pôle position des alliés parfaits pour les fruits de mer mais aussi les apéritifs. Il serait incongru de s’en priver car l’avidité naturelle le ce vin en fait un effervescent. Toutefois, pour une symbiose adéquate, le choix des cuvées classiques telles : le champagne brut ou semi brut est fortement conseillé à cause des bulles stimulantes produites. 

Le choix du champagne brut : à la différence du champagne demi sec dont le grammage en sucre par litre est assez élevé (33 à 50 grammes en sucre par litre), le champagne brut quant à lui est très pauvre en sucre (17 à 35 grammes en sucre par litre) son acidité vive lui permet de tenir tête aux notes salines des huîtres.

La cuvée blanc de blancs : récompensé au concours mondial chardonnay du monde 2017 où il a eu la médaille d’or, ce 100% chardonnay de couleur or blanc brillant revêt une intensité aux saveurs de mirabelle pas que, mais aussi de pain grillé. Sa vinification se fait de façon automatique. Sa dégustation quant à elle est très élégante elle procure une fraîcheur franche avec un goût de fruit sec vers la fin. Considéré par certains comme le meilleur chardonnay au monde, la cuvée blanc de blancs est le compagnon rêvé de vos apéritifs dînatoires il se marie parfaitement avec les huîtres. Son prix varie entre 5 et 9 € par bouteille.

La grande réserve extra brut de la Maison Dehours constituée à 57% pinot, 10% chardonnay 3% pinot noir, et faiblement dosée avec 7 grammes en sucre par litre il privilégie sa grande générosité en arômes afin de conserver sa fraîcheur aux notes vives d’agrumes (zestes d’orange et de citrons) mais aussi de fruits très mûrs blancs et jaunes (poire et abricot). Sa dégustation retrace les épices de cannelle de vanille, lui permettant de conserver sa minéralité et sa vivacité afin d’épouser les huîtres qui ne pouvaient pas rêver mieux comme compagnon. Une bouteille vaut environ 23.90€. 

L’option du vin rouge

Sachant que tout le monde n’est pas fan inconditionnel des bulles, il y a une autre option toute aussi originale : celui du vin rouge. Ça reste une pratique peu courante. C’est beaucoup plus à Bordeaux que l’on assiste à ce mélange. Cet accord est plus efficace lorsque les huîtres sont très peu iodées. Ce mélange est idéal pour le pleurote en huître que seuls quelques vins rouges peuvent allier convenablement. Néanmoins, voici une shortlist de quelques vins rouges conseillés ; un atlantique rouge, un bordeaux rouge, une côte de bordeaux un brulhois rouge ou encore un chinon rouge.

Conclusion

En somme, vous n’aurez plus à vous poser la question de savoir quel vin avec huîtres ! Une liste d’accompagnement vous a été proposée avec l’espoir que vous saurez tirer votre épingle du jeu face à l’embarras qui sera le vôtre entre la tradition avec les vins blancs secs et fruités et l’originalité du champagne ou du vin rouge. Il ne vous reste plus qu’à profiter pleinement de vos dégustations.