The Oé team offers delivery from 6 bottles ordered!

Wine pairings: white wine for mussels

Mussels , everyone salivates over this dish originating in Belgium and which has become increasingly popular in the North of France. For some time, it has become the emblematic menu of Lille. It is found everywhere in France, whether in brasseries, pizzerias or Beijingers. Simple to cook and prepare, it is one of the first recognized fast foods in the French culinary tradition. To savor this delicious delicacy, it is best to accompany it with a good white wine . But which would be the most appropriate? We tell you everything in this article.

Which white wine for mussels?

The mussels are traditionally served on fries , garnished with cream, lemon, mushrooms, and curry. To perfect their cooking, cook for another 5 minutes over low heat. These are seafood that go perfectly with a lager . Although this pairing is ideal, they can pair very well with dry, young and lively white wines . These are actually not very sweet wines, 3 to 4 years old and endowed with a perfect taste acidity .

Obviously, we will avoid tannic red wines , which would create a certain bitterness to encroach on the iodized taste of the mussels. Mussels and red wine are therefore an agreement to be avoided. It is preferable to choose a simple wine with good effervescence to balance with the dish. Opt for example for the appellations of the Loire such as Sancerre , Touraine blanc , Pouilly fumé , Quincy and Rully . A Chablis with a fresh nose and a mineral mouthfeel is another possibility to accompany your mussel casseroles.

For more acidic or even nervous wines, choose a Muscadet or a large plant de pays, which will provide the freshness necessary to enhance the taste of your dish. Entre-deux-Mers could also lend itself to the game.

Mussels and rosé wines

If white wines go very well with mussels, it is clear that rosé wines, due to their lightness and their non-woody flavor, are excellent with this dish. For example, set your sights on a Coteau du Giennois , a Bordeaux rosé or a rosé from Provence . Whatever the type of mussels, rosé wine will balance very well with the menu, especially in summer.

Discover Oé rosé wines

Wine and different types of molds

However, the wine chosen will depend on the type of cooking. Faced with mussels in chicken sauce , mussels in Basquaise sauce , mussel soup , mussels marinières , mussels in curry, we will choose a specific wine.

If this dish is concocted with a little more curry, opt for a fairly powerful rosé wine with or tangy mouthfeel. For this, your best allies will be, among others, the Côtes du Rhône Village , Corbières and Bandol .

Wine and mussels with chicken sauce

If you have chosen to cook the mussels in chicken sauce, made with garlic cloves, fresh cream, onion and parsley, you should opt for a dry, light white wine with a lively and mineral mouthfeel. A white Touraine or a small Chablis is ideal to accompany this menu.

Wine and mussels with white wine and lemon sauce

Made with shallots, garlic cloves, bouquet garni and dry white wine, the mussels with white wine and lemon sauce are accompanied by light and mineral dry white wines . The white wines of Muscadet, Muscadet Sèvre and Maine combine perfectly with the acidity of this dish.

Wine and mussels with basquaise sauce

Basquaise sauce lover, opt for a light white wine and a nervous mouth. A large plant from the Nantes region or a white Irouléguy will be ideal to accompany your seafood with Basque sauce.

Wine and mussels

Mussels marinières are cooked in 4 main stages. The first is to clean the mussels and gently nest them in cold water. Second, put the mussels in a saucepan, add butter, shallots cut into small pieces and chopped flat-leaf parsley. Then, ice with white wine and season with pepper. The magic trick is to cook the mussels over high heat with a lid. Also, sauté the onions before adding the mussels. This will allow you to have melt-in-your-mouth mussels. Once the mussels have been shelled, remove them from the heat and serve them in a dish, adding the cooking juices.

Mussels marinières can be balanced very well with dry white wines with a nervous mouth. This is the case, for example, of the large Nantes country plants, the Muscadet . Dry sparkling wines such as Crémant d'Alsace or Vouvray can be served very well on marinière mussels.

A few names associated with mussels

  • Between two seas

Located between the Dordogne and the Garonne, in the small villages and hilly landscapes, the Entre-deux-mers offers very nice surprises in terms of white, rosé and red wine. The dry white wines from this vineyard are ideal for serving mussels, due to their effervescence which would balance very well with the simplicity of the dish.

  • Pouilly smoke

The Sauvignon Blanc vines of the Pouilly Fumé appellation flourish very well on the right bank of the Loire, opposite Sancerre . The estate produces typical, mineral and smoky wines that will go well with the sweetness of the marinière mussels.

To perfectly combine your dish, you can also opt for appellations such as Beaujolais , the gros plant du pays Nantais or a Mâcon . Quincy , Rully and Sancerre are also delicious to accompany your mussels.

However, if you need a wine to accompany your sweet tooth, opt for the organic wines lovingly selected by the Oé team. The wines are made from organic grapes which benefit from AB and vegan certifications.

I discover the good organic wines Oé

Close (esc)
pop-up

Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Search
Our engagements
Shopping Cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now

Confinement • nous livrons toujours vos vins bio en respectant les normes sanitaires. La livraison est offerte à partir de 6 bouteilles ;)

Accords mets vins : vin blanc pour moules

Les moules, chacun salive face à ce plat originaire de la Belgique et devenu de plus en plus populaire dans le Nord de la France. Depuis quelques temps, il devient le menu emblématique de Lille. On le retrouve partout dans l’hexagone, que ce soit dans les brasseries, la pizzeria ou les pékinois. Simple de cuisson et de préparation, c’est l’un des premiers fastfoods reconnus dans la tradition culinaire française. Pour savourer cette délicieuse gourmandise, il est préférable de l’accompagner d’un bon vin blanc. Mais lequel serait le plus approprié ? Nous vous disons tout dans cet article. 

Quel vin blanc pour moules ?

Les moules sont de manière traditionnelle, servies sur des frites, agrémentées de crème, de citron, de champignons, et de curry. Pour parfaire leur cuisson, laisser cuire encore 5 minutes supplémentaires à feu doux. Ce sont des fruits de mers qui se marient parfaitement avec une bière blonde. Bien que cet accord soit idéal, ils peuvent très bien s’associer à des vins blancs secs, jeunes et vifs. Il s’agit en réalité de vins pas très sucrés, de 3 à 4 ans d’âge et doté d’une parfaite acidité gustative.  

De toute évidence, on évitera les vins rouges tanniques, qui créeraient une certaine amertume d’empiéter sur le goût iodé des moules. Moules et vin rouge sont donc un accord à éviter. Il faut de préférence choisir un vin simple doté d’une bonne effervescence pour équilibrer avec plat.  Optez par exemple pour les appellations de la Loire comme le Sancerre, le Touraine blanc, le Pouilly fumé, le Quincy ainsi que le Rully. Un chablis au nez frais et à la bouche minérale est une autre possibilité pour accompagner vos cocottes de moules. 

Pour les vins plus acides voire nerveux, privilégiez un muscadet ou un gros plant de pays, qui fournira la fraîcheur nécessaire  pour relever le goût de votre mets. L’Entre-deux-Mers pourrait également se prêter au jeu.

Les moules et les vins rosés 

Si les vins blancs se marient très bien avec les moules, il est clair que les vins rosés, de par leur légèreté et de leur saveur non boisée, sont excellents avec ce plat. Jetez par exemple votre dévolu sur un Coteau du Giennois, un Bordeaux rosé ou un rosé de Provence. Quel que soit le type de moules, le vin rosé s’équilibrera très bien avec le menu, surtout en période estivale. 

Découvrir les vins rosés Oé

Vin et différents types de moules 

Toutefois, le vin choisi dépendra du type de cuisson. Face aux moules sauce poulette, aux moules sauce basquaise, à la soupe aux moules, aux moules marinières, aux moules au curry on choisira un vin spécifique. 

Si ce plat est concocté avec un peu plus de curry, optez pour un vin rosé assez puissant avec ou bouche acidulée. Pour cela vos meilleurs alliés seront entre autres les Côtes du Rhône Village, Corbières, et Bandol

Vin et moules sauce poulette

Si vous avez choisi de cuisiner les moules sauce poulette, faites de gousses d’ail, de crème fraîche, d’oignon et de persil, il conviendrait d’opter pour un vin blanc sec, léger avec une bouche vive et minérale. Un Touraine blanc ou un petit Chablis est idéal pour accompagner ce menu. 

Vin et moules sauce vin blanc et citron

A base d’échalotes, gousses d’ail, bouquet garni et vin blanc sec, les moules sauce vin blanc et citron s’accompagnent de vins blancs secs légers et minéral. Les vins blancs de muscadet, de muscadet sèvre et de Maine s’associent parfaitement à l’acidité de ce mets. 

Vin et moules sauce basquaise

Amateur de sauce basquaise, optez pour un vin blanc léger et une bouche nerveuse. Un gros plant du pays Nantais ou un Irouléguy blanc sera idéal pour accompagner vos fruits de mers à la sauce basquaise.

Vin et moules marinières

Les moules marinières se cuisine en 4 principales étapes. La première consiste à nettoyer les moules et les nicher délicatement à l’eau froide. Deuxièmement, on met les moules dans une casserole, on y ajoute du beurre, des échalotes coupées en petits morceaux et le persil plat hachée. Par la suite, on glace avec du vin blanc et on assaisonne avec du poivre. L’astuce magique est de cuire les moules à feu vif avec un couvercle. Aussi, faites revenir les oignons avant de mettre les moules. Ceci permettra d’avoir des moules fondantes en bouche. Une fois les moules décortiquées, on les retire du feu et on les sert dans un plat en ajoutant le jus de cuisson. 

Les moules marinières peuvent très bien s’équilibrer avec les vins blancs secs dotés d’une bouche nerveuse. C’est le cas par exemple des gros plants pays nantais, le Muscadet. Les vins effervescents secs comme le crémant d’Alsace ou le Vouvray peuvent très bien se servir sur des moules marinières. 

Quelques appellations à associer aux moules

  • Entre-deux-Mers

Situé entre la Dordogne et Garonne, dans les petits villages et paysages vallonnés l’Entre-deux-mers offre de très belles surprises en matière de vin blanc, rosé et rouges. Les vins blancs secs de ce vignoble sont idéaux pour servir des moules, du fait de leur effervescence qui s’équilibrerait très bien avec la simplicité du plat.  

  • Pouilly Fumé 

Les vignes du sauvignon blanc de l’appellation Pouilly Fumé s’épanouissent très bien sur la rive droite de la Loire, face à Sancerre. Le domaine produit les vins typés, minéraux et fumés qui sauront se marier avec la douceur des moules marinières. 

Pour parfaitement marier votre mets, vous pouvez également opter pour les appellations comme le Beaujolais, le gros plant du pays Nantais ou un Mâcon. Le Quincy, le Rully et le Sancerre sont également délicieux pour accompagner vos moules.

Toutefois, si vous avez besoin d’un vin pour accompagner votre gourmandise, optez pour les vins bio sélectionnés avec amour par l'équipe Oé. Les vins sont élaborés à base du raisin biologique qui profite des certifications AB et vegan. 

Je découvre les bons vins bio Oé

Fermer (esc)
Popup

Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Recherche
Menu principal
Panier
Votre panier est vide.
Boutique