The Oé team offers delivery from 6 bottles ordered!

Which grape varieties are used in the production of organic wine?

“Don't judge a book by its cover”


We agree, we must not trust appearances. So for wine, we do the same, we take the time to contemplate it and listen to its history to discover the grape varieties that make it up.

What is an organic wine?

Unfortunately, wine does not fall from the sky, unlike the rainwater that runs down the mountains and refreshes our palates after a long walk. Fortunately for us, we have found a way to turn grapes , the fruit of the vine , into wine.

The grape varieties of organic wine: The conception of organic wine

In France, it is customary to drink wine (or rather should we say to taste it). On the other hand, when it comes to knowing how it is produced and all the secrets behind it, there are not many people at the gate. Harvesting , vinification , bottling , etc. There are several ways to make wine.

 

  • You have probably already tasted a conventional wine because today it still represents 90% of the market. Indeed, the production technique is very profitable. The machine replaces the man and the pesticides chemically protect the soil to optimize production. The consequences are not always nice to see, but it works in the short term.
  • Wine in sustainable agriculture takes into account both the economic return of conventional wines and the importance of ecology and soil maintenance of organic wines. The winemaker undertakes to have a reasoned viticulture and vinification as its name suggests, well done Sherlock! Sustainable agriculture wines are certified by the "Terra Vitis" label.
  • In organic farming, inputs are limited (all inputs must be certified organic), sulphites are also limited (maximum sulphite level at 100mg/l for an organic dry red wine against 150mg/l for a conventional dry red wine) or also the use of certain techniques. Organic is good and that's surely why organic growth should double between 2017 and 2022! At Oé, all our winegrowers are certified organic. If you want to discover them, take a look at our instagram or discover our interviews with them available on our blog.
  • Biodynamics or the return to the techniques of yesteryear! This method of production is punctuated by nature, the seasons and the cycles of the moon. Without fertilizers or pesticides, winegrowers who practice biodynamics strongly believe that Life does not belong to the Earth but Life is a gift to the Earth ”. The winegrowers therefore use natural products, in particular plants to strengthen the soil. Like us on a movie night, the ground has the right to a little infusion to calm down.
  • For natural wine , we push the cork even further Maurice (do you have the reference of the Swiss brown pub? It always makes us laugh so much!). This time, no input is allowed except a very small dose of sulphites, which are naturally present in the grapes. SAINS wines (Without Any Inputs or Sulfites) are the most natural wines you can find. We do not laugh with Saint-Raisin, woe to anyone who modifies the juice. With this technique, we try to get as close as possible to a wine without any human intervention, at the risk of having a wine that goes wrong. Nature has its limits of course, but that's why we love it!

We told you about the sulphite levels above, we invite you to discover the levels practiced by our committed Oé winegrowers



Liquid error: product form must be given a product

from


Why drink organic wine?

Why not ? You have four hours…


More seriously (but not too much anyway), drinking organic wine means being in a responsible and eco-citizen approach, and above all loving drinking good wine that perfectly reflects its terroir. Organic winegrowers are committed winegrowers who consider that the land is respected and that our health is important. By limiting inputs, in particular sulphites , and by refusing synthetic treatments and insecticides in the vines , the winegrower demonstrates a desire to change things. The vine today is 4% agriculture and 20% pesticides … The calculations are not good Kevin… we have to change that!


Drinking organic wine is the testimony of a desire to change the world in which we are until the aperitif. Tomorrow will not change on its own and it is the small actions of all of us that will move the lines.


Drinking organic wine is also and above all drinking wine that is as good for your health as it is for the palate. Thewinegrowers work with love in their vineyards and in their cellars throughout the year to offer you the best of wine . It won't give you a headache the next day and it will especially make you smile when you taste it!

The grape varieties of organic wine: what is a grape variety?

Making organic wine , biodynamic wine and natural wine is more difficult than producing conventional wine because the vines are much more sensitive to climatic and soil conditions. But impossible is not French and the winegrowers who are committed do everything to produce the best organic wines for you with a wide variety of grape varieties .

The grape variety and the vines

If we are not told, it cannot be invented. The grape variety is the variety of vines , a bit like when we talk about the breed of dogs or cats. There are white grape varieties and black grape varieties . While strolling through vineyards or along the roads, you may have already noticed white grapes and black grapes. Also remember grape juice. When we were little, we often had our little preference for one or the other. Lucky that we are, the earth has spoiled us much more than it looks! If we thought we had only the choice between white grapes or black grapes, there are in fact, among these two families, hundreds of different grape varieties .


The soil , weather conditions and surrounding plants have a great impact on the grape variety . The vine soaks up its environment and reflects the aromas that surround it. On a similar terroir , two different grape varieties will have a different rendering, but two similar grape varieties will also have a different rendering if they do not grow on the same terroir . There are therefore an infinite number of possibilities and everyone can find what they are looking for!

The particularities of the grape varieties

The grape varieties are the reflections of the land on which they are grown. They express the terroir ( mineral, limestone, clay, granite, etc.) and give a specific character to the wine. The vine is a plant and it is better adapted to certain climates and certain soils. If you've ever gardened at home, you may have noticed that some fruits and vegetables grow better than others, withstand extreme climates better, and even resist disease.


There are therefore grape varieties that are typical of certain regions but this does not mean that it cannot be found elsewhere:


  • Cabernet Sauvignon is the most common grape variety in the Médoc, but it is also grown in the Graves and in other countries around the world (USA, Italy, China, Australia). It is a very resistant variety that is harvested in the last and it also knows how to last over time once in the bottle. This variety offers wines that age very well and which make it possible to obtain good organic red wines with woody aromas and supple tannins .
  • Pinot is a grape variety that exists in white, black and even gray (too strong, isn't it?). Pinot Noir is the king of Burgundy and makes it possible to make high quality wines, but it also wins the hearts of Austrians, Italians and Swiss. Pinot Blanc has made Alsace its home to offer us fresh and supple white wines and sparkling wines .


  • The Mourvèdre likes to look at the sea so it has woven a love story with the Mediterranean and its sunny climate. It will therefore not surprise you to know that it is also found in Spain but under another name, the “Monastrell”, it has its little effect, doesn't it? ;)
  • Sémillon is a white grape variety with which we mainly make great sweet white wines but also very good dry white wines . This grape variety loves the West of France (we understand that, it's magnificent), and we find it in our white Bordeaux and our Côtes-de-Bergerac .

Liquid error: product form must be given a product

from



  • Syrah has oriental sounds when you pronounce its name and you can also feel it in the glass. This very powerful variety has spicy notes and is very popular in France. It is grown almost everywhere but especially in the Rhône Valley , in Languedoc and in Provence . So don't be surprised to find it in our Languedoc and our Côte-du-Rhône .
  • Merlot is THE French grape variety par excellence . It is the most planted grape variety with more than 110,000 hectares, which is approximately 73,000 times the base of the Eiffel Tower. Dizzying, isn't it? But it's for the good cause of wine. He is also a Bordeaux star, sweeter than his comrade Cabernet Sauvignon . Its aromas of black fruits such as Blackcurrant and Blackberry make it an important choice for making good organic red wines but also super good organic rosé wines . Appreciate this variety in our Bordeaux or in our Mediterranean .
  • Grenache also appreciates the South and the Mediterranean . It is also part of some great appellations such as the famous Châteauneuf-du-Pape . Winegrowers are very fond of combining Grenache with other grape varieties, but it can also make very good natural wine when it is vinified alone or as a majority grape variety.

Liquid error: product form must be given a product

from



  • Riesling and Alsace is a beautiful love story. This grape variety is one of the four grape varieties authorized for the AOC Alsace Grand Cru and AOC Alsace appellations . It also expresses itself very well beyond our borders and it is moreover the first grape variety cultivated in Germany. Its fruity and floral aromas are therefore very envious, and it even has a mineral side as it ages.
  • Sauvignon blanc produces rather acidic wines with very vegetal and herbaceous notes . It is the Loire Valley that best suits this variety, but it is also found in Burgundy and Bordeaux . He too has a pretty heavy passport because you can find him in the vineyards of Australia, New Zealand, South Africa… you almost want to be a bunch of grapes, don't you?
  • Chardonnay is the most famous white grape variety in the world. To make good fruity and flowery organic white wines , this grape variety is a marvel both in the mouth and on the nose . The pale yellow color of our Bugey , a 100% Chardonnay , is as beautiful as this wine is good with its notes of white flowers .

There are many grape varieties to make good organic wine . Their history and characteristics are fascinating. Immerse yourself in the stories and take a look at this article to learn more.



Treat yourself to our organic Provence wines , organic Vaucluse wines , organic Bordeaux wines , organic Languedoc wines , organic Mediterranean wines , organic Côtes du Rhône wines .

Close (esc)
pop-up

Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Search
Our engagements
Shopping Cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now

Quels cépages sont utilisés dans la fabrication du vin bio ?

“Ne jugez pas un livre à sa couverture”


On est d’accord, il ne faut pas se fier aux apparences. Alors pour le vin, on fait pareil, on prend le temps de le contempler et d’écouter son histoire pour découvrir les cépages qui le composent.

Qu’est ce qu’un vin bio ?

Malheureusement, le vin ne tombe pas du ciel contrairement à l’eau de pluie qui ruisselle le long des montagnes et nous rafraîchit le palais après une bonne balade. Heureusement pour nous, on a trouvé le moyen de transformer le raisin, fruit de la vigne, en vin.

Les cépages du vin bio : La conception du vin bio

En France, il est coutume de boire du vin (ou plutôt devrait-on dire de le déguster). En revanche, quand il s’agit de savoir comment on le produit et tous les secrets qui se cachent derrière, il n’y a plus grand monde au portillon. Les vendanges, la vinification, la mise en bouteille etc... Il existe plusieurs façons de faire du vin.

 

  • Vous avez probablement déjà dégusté un vin conventionnel car aujourd’hui il représente encore 90% du marché. En effet, la technique de production est très rentable. La machine remplace l’homme et les pesticides protègent chimiquement les sols pour optimiser la production. Les conséquences ne sont pas toujours sympa à voir, mais ça marche à court terme. 
  • Le vin en agriculture raisonnée prend à la fois en compte le rendement économique des vins conventionnels et l’importance de l’écologie et du maintien des sols des vins bio. Le vigneron s’engage à avoir une viticulture et une vinification raisonnée comme son nom l’indique, bien joué Sherlock ! Les vins en agriculture raisonnée sont certifiés par le label “Terra Vitis".
  • En agriculture biologique on limite les intrants (tous les intrants doivent être certifiés bio), on limite aussi les sulfites (taux de sulfite maximum à 100mg/l pour un vin rouge sec bio contre 150mg/l pour un vin rouge sec conventionnel) ou aussi l’utilisation de certaines techniques. Le bio, c’est bon et c’est sûrement pour ça que la croissance du bio devrait doubler entre 2017 et 2022 ! Chez Oé, tous nos vignerons sont certifiés bio. Si vous voulez les découvrir, faites un tour sur notre instagram ou découvrez nos interviews avec eux disponibles sur notre blog. 
  • La biodynamie ou le retour aux techniques d’antan ! Cette méthode de production est rythmée par la nature, les saisons et les cycles de la lune. Sans engrais ni pesticides, les vignerons qui pratiquent la biodynamie croient dur comme fer que « la Vie n’appartient pas à la Terre mais la Vie est un don à la Terre ». Les vignerons utilisent donc des produits naturels, notamment des plantes pour renforcer les sols. Comme nous un soir de film, le sol a le droit à se petite infusion pour s'apaiser.
  • Pour le vin naturel, on pousse le bouchon encore plus loin Maurice (vous avez la référence de la pub marron Suisse ? Elle nous fait toujours autant rire !). Cette fois-ci, aucun intrant n’est autorisé sauf une très petite dose de sulfites, présents naturellement dans les raisins. Les vins S.A.I.N.S (Sans Aucun Intrant Ni Sulfite) sont les vins les plus naturels que vous pouvez trouver. On ne rigole pas avec le Saint-Raisin, malheur à celui qui modifiera le jus. Avec cette technique, on cherche à se rapprocher le plus possible d’un vin sans aucune intervention humaine, au risque d’avoir un vin qui tourne mal. La nature a ses limites bien sûr, mais c’est pour ça qu’on l’aime !

On vous parlait des taux de sulfites plus haut, on vous propose de découvrir les taux que pratiquent nos vignerons Oé engagés 



Liquid error: product form must be given a product

À partir de


Pourquoi boire du vin bio ?

Pourquoi pas ? Vous avez quatre heures…


Plus sérieusement (mais pas trop quand même), boire du vin bio c’est être dans une démarche responsable et éco citoyenne, et surtout aimer boire du bon vin qui reflète parfaitement son terroir. Les vignerons bio sont des vignerons engagés qui considèrent que la terre se respecte et que notre santé est importante. En limitant les intrants, notamment les sulfites, et en refusant les traitements synthétiques et d'insecticides dans les vignes, le vigneron fait gage d’une volonté de faire changer les choses. La vigne, c’est aujourd’hui 4% de l’agriculture et 20% de pesticides… Les calculs sont pas bons Kevin… on doit changer ça ! 


Boire du vin bio, c’est le témoignage d’une volonté de faire évoluer le monde dans lequel on est jusqu’à l’apéro. Demain ne changera pas tout seul et ce sont nos petites actions à tous qui feront bouger les lignes.


Boire du vin bio, c’est aussi et surtout boire du vin qui est aussi bon pour la santé que pour le palais. Les vignerons Oé travaillent avec amour dans leurs vignes et dans leurs chais tout au long de l’année pour vous proposer le meilleur du vin. Il ne vous donnera pas mal à la tête le lendemain et il vous donnera surtout le sourire lorsque vous le dégusterez ! 

Les cépages du vin bio : qu’est ce qu’un cépage ?

Faire du vin biologique, du vin biodynamique et du vin naturel est plus difficile que de produire du vin conventionnel car les vignes sont beaucoup plus sensibles aux conditions climatiques et au sol. Mais impossible n’est pas français et les vignerons qui s’engagent font tout pour vous produire les meilleurs vins bios avec une grande variété de cépages.

Le cépage et les vignes

Si on ne nous le dit pas, ça ne s’invente pas. Le cépage, c’est la variété des vignes, un peu comme quand on parle de la race des chiens ou des chats. Il existe des cépages blancs et des cépages noirs. En vous baladant dans des vignes ou le long des routes, vous avez peut-être déjà remarqué des raisins blancs et des raisins noirs. Souvenez-vous aussi des jus de raisins. Quand on était petit, on avait souvent notre petite préférence pour l’un ou l’autre. Chanceux que nous sommes, la terre nous a gâté bien plus qu’en apparence ! Si nous pensions avoir seulement le choix entre du raisin blanc ou du raisin noir, il y a en fait, parmi ces deux familles, des centaines de cépages différents. 


Le sol, les conditions météorologiques et les végétaux environnants ont une grande incidence sur le cépage. La vigne s’imprègne de son environnement et reflète les arômes qui l'entourent. Sur un terroir similaire, deux cépages différents auront un rendu différent, mais deux cépages similaires auront aussi un rendu différent s’ils ne poussent pas sur le même terroir. Il existe donc une infinité de possibilités et chacun peut trouver son bonheur !

Les particularités des cépages 

Les cépages sont les reflets de la terre sur laquelle ils sont cultivés. Ils expriment le terroir (minéral, calcaire, argileux, graniteux…) et donnent un caractère spécifique au vin. La vigne est une plante et elle est mieux adaptée à certains climats et certains sols. Si vous avez déjà fait du jardinage chez vous, vous avez peut-être remarqué que certains fruits et légumes poussent mieux que d’autres, résistent mieux aux climats extrêmes et même aux maladies. 


Il y a donc des cépages qui sont typiques de certaines régions mais ce n’est pas pour autant qu’on ne peut pas le retrouver ailleurs :


  • Le Cabernet Sauvignon est le cépage le plus répandu dans le Médoc, mais il est aussi cultivé dans les Graves et dans d’autres pays du monde (USA, Italie, Chine, Australie). C’est un cépage très résistant qui est récolté dans les derniers et il sait aussi durer dans le temps une fois en bouteille. Ce cépage offre des vins qui vieillissent très bien et qui permettent d’obtenir de bons vins rouges biologiques aux arômes boisés et aux tanins souples.
  • Le Pinot est un cépage qui existe en blanc, en noir et même en gris (trop fort non ?). Le pinot noir est le roi de la Bourgogne et permet de faire des vins de grande qualité, mais il gagne aussi le coeur des Autrichiens, des Italiens ou des Suisses. Le pinot blanc, lui, a fait de l’Alsace sa maison pour nous proposer des vins blancs et des vins pétillants frais et souples.

Le Crémant
Le Crémant

15,40 €



  • Le Mourvèdre aime regarder la mer alors il a tissé une histoire d’amour avec la méditerranée et son climat ensoleillé. Ça ne vous étonnera donc pas de savoir qu’on le retrouve aussi en Espagne mais sous un autre nom, le “Monastrell”, ça fait son petit effet non ? ;)
  • Le Sémillon est un cépage blanc avec lequel on fait essentiellement des grands vins blancs liquoreux mais aussi de très bons vins blancs secs. Ce cépage adore l’Ouest de la France (on le comprend, c’est magnifique), et on le retrouve d’ailleurs dans notre Bordeaux blanc et notre Côtes-de-Bergerac

Liquid error: product form must be given a product

À partir de



  • La Syrah a des sonorités orientales quand on prononce son nom et on le ressent aussi dans le verre. Ce cépage très puissant a des notes épicées et il est très apprécié en France. On le cultive un peu partout mais surtout dans la Vallée du Rhône, dans le Languedoc et en Provence. Ne soyez donc pas surpris de le retrouver dans notre Languedoc et notre Côte-du-Rhône.
  • Le Merlot est LE cépage Français par excellence. C’est le cépage le plus planté avec plus de 110 000 hectares, ce qui fait environ 73 000 fois la base de la Tour Eiffel. Vertigineux non ? Mais c’est pour la bonne cause du vin. C’est lui aussi une star Bordelaise, plus doux que son camarade le Cabernet Sauvignon. Ses arômes de fruits noirs comme le Cassis et la Mûre en font un choix de poids pour faire de bons vins bios rouges mais aussi de super bon vins rosés bios. Appréciez ce cépage dans notre Bordeaux ou dans notre Méditerranée.
  • Le Grenache apprécie lui aussi le midi et la méditerranée. Il fait aussi partie de certaines grandes appellations comme par exemple le fameux Châteauneuf-du-Pape. Les vignerons aiment beaucoup associer le Grenache avec d’autres cépages mais il peut aussi tout à fait faire du très bon vin nature quand il est vinifié seul ou en cépage majoritaire. 


  • Le Riesling et l’Alsace, c’est une belle histoire d’amour. Ce cépage fait partie des quatre cépages autorisés pour les appellations AOC Alsace Grand Cru et AOC Alsace. Il s’exprime aussi très bien au-delà de nos frontières et c’est d’ailleurs le premier cépage cultivé en Allemagne. Ses arômes fruités et floraux font donc beaucoup d’envieux, et il a même un côté minéral en vieillissant.
  • Le Sauvignon blanc produit des vins plutôt acides avec des notes très végétales et herbacées. C’est la Vallée de La Loire qui convient le mieux à ce cépage mais on le retrouve aussi tout à fait en Bourgogne ou à Bordeaux. Lui aussi a un passeport plutôt bien chargé car on peut le retrouver dans les vignobles en Australie, en Nouvelle-Zélande, en Afrique du Sud… on aurait presque envie d’être une grappe de raisin non ?
  • Le Chardonnay est le cépage blanc le plus connu dans le monde. Pour faire de bons vins blancs bios fruités et fleuris, ce cépage est une petite merveille autant dans la bouche qu’au nez. La robe jaune pâle de notre Bugey, un 100% Chardonnay, est aussi belle que ce vin est bon avec ses notes de fleurs blanches

Les cépages, pour faire du bon vin biologique, sont nombreux. Leur histoire et leurs caractéristiques sont passionnantes. Plongez-vous dans les récits et faites un tour sur cet article pour en apprendre davantage.



Faites vous plaisir avec nos vins bio Provence, vins bio Vaucluse, vins Bio Bordeaux, vins bio Languedoc, vins bio Méditerranée, vins bio Côtes du Rhône.

Fermer (esc)
Popup

Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Recherche
Nos engagements
Panier
Votre panier est vide.
Boutique